Mindanao solons are now deputy speakers

/ 07:54 PM August 17, 2016

House of Representatives. INQUIRER FILE PHOTO

Majority floor leader Rudy Fariñas on Wednesday named two Mindanao lawmakers as deputy speakers in the House of Representatives.

During the plenary session on Wednesday night, Fariñas named Maguindanao Rep. Bai Sandra Sema and South Cotabato Rep. Ferdinand Hernandez as deputy speakers, who are the second highest officials in the House of Representatives.


They joined the ranks of the deputy speakers earlier elected in Congress—former president and Pampanga Rep Gloria Macapagal Arroyo, Taguig Rep. and former senator Pia Cayetano, Cebu Rep. Gwendolyn Garcia, Davao City Rep. Mylene Garcia-Albano and Aambis Owa Rep. Sharon Garin.

READ: Arroyo, Pia Cayetano lead new House Deputy Speakers
The five deputy Speakers chosen to represent the different political parties in Congress are Ilocos Sur Rep. Eric Singson, Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan; Batangas Rep. Raneo Abu, Nacionalista Party; Capiz Rep. Fredenil Castro, National Unity Party; Marikina Rep. Romero Quimbo, Liberal Party; and Negros Occidental Rep. Mercedes Alvarez, Nationalist People’s Coalition.


Fariñas also named the following lawmakers as chairpersons of the pertinent House committees:

READ: Unusual: First-termer Vilma Santos-Recto gets key House committee | More House chairpersons named Duterte allies get chairmanships of key House committees 

Bicol recovery and economic development—Camarines Norte Rep. Renato Unico

Climate change—Ako Bicol Rep. Christopher Co

Globalization and WTO—Angkla Rep. Jesulito Manalo. RAM

READ: More administration allies lead House committees |  Bayan Muna lawmaker chairs committee on natural resources | Gabriela solon to lead House committee on poverty alleviation 

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: deputy speakers, House of Representatives, Maguindanao Rep. Bai Sandra Sema, Mindanao, South Cotabato Rep. Ferdinand Hernandez
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Duterte visits wake of Elizabeth Gokongwei

November 18, 2019 07:54 AM


Hong Kong police storm university held by protesters

November 18, 2019 07:34 AM


Magnitude 4 quake hits off Quezon island

November 18, 2019 07:31 AM

© Copyright 1997-2019 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.