More House chairpersons named

/ 07:39 PM August 08, 2016

More allies of President Duterte were named as chairpersons of key committees in the House of Representatives.

During the plenary session on Monday, Majority Floor Leader Ilocos Norte Rep. Rudy Farinas named the chairpersons of the following committees:


-Constitutional amendment – Southern Leyte Rep. Roger Mercado

-Games and amusements – Paranaque Rep. Gus Tambunting


-Trade and industry – AGAP Rep. Rico Geron

-Ways and means – Quirino Rep. Dakila Cua

-Women and gender equality – DIWA Rep. Emmeline Aglipay-Villar

-Globalization and world trade organization – Ako Bicol Rep. Christopher Co

-Land use – Negros Occidental Rep. Alejandro Mirasol

-Sustainable development goals – Masbate Rep. Elisa Kho

-Northern Luzon quadrangle – Mountain Province Rep. Maximo Dalog


Farinas also named the following as members of the House of Representatives Electoral Tribunal – Misamis Occidental Rep. Jorge Almonte and Ako Bicol Rep. Rodel Batocabe.

For the powerful Commission on Appointments, Farinas named the following as its members – Occidental Mindoro Rep. Josephine Sato, Isabela Rep. Rodolfo Albano III, A Teacher Rep. Julieta Cortuna, and Cebu Rep. Benhur Salimbangon.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Duterte Administration, House of Representatives, Nation, news, Rodolfo Fariñas
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2019 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.