PDI bags 7th ‘Newspaper of the Year’ award | Inquirer News

PDI bags 7th ‘Newspaper of the Year’ award

By: - Reporter / @dexcabalzaINQ
/ 04:01 AM December 02, 2019
PDI bags 7th ‘Newspaper of the Year’ award

HALL OF FAME PDI vice president for HR and Administration Renato Lao (from left), associate publisher Juliet Labog- Javellana, PDI columnist Rina Jimenez-David and PDI HR manager Jogi Pineda hold the trophies awarded by the People Management Association of the Philippines. —EARVIN PERIAS

MANILA, Philipines — The Philippine Daily Inquirer has returned to the hall of fame after being honored with a seventh newspaper of the year award during the 9th Makatao Awards for Media Excellence of the People Management Association of the Philippines (PMAP).

Inquirer vice president for human resources and administration Renato Lao, associate publisher Juliet Labog-Javellana, HR manager Jogi Pineda and columnist Rina Jimenez-David received the award on Wednesday at the PMAP’s 651st general membership meeting at Dusit Thani Manila in Makati City.


David was also recognized as best columnist of the year for her piece, “Hopes and fears for young people.”

GMA network was chosen TV network of the year and dzMM, radio station of the year.


The awards were presented by PMAP president Gerry Plana, executive director Rene Gener, media and communications committee chair Ellen Fullido; and members of the panel of judges Arminda Santiago, dean of the University of the Philippines College of Mass Communication, and Ma. Luisa Estrada, operations manager of the Ad Standards Council.

‘People management’

Inquirer was recognized for its “contribution in enhancing public understanding of the role and impact of sound people management and harmonious relationship between employers and employees in both public and private sectors in the country.”

Javellana, in her remarks on the Inquirer’s behalf, said, “This award is very special. This is for our hardworking and passionate employees, officers and staff and our readers.”

Inquirer previously won newspaper of the year for five straight years — from the first Makatao Awards in 2011 up to 2015. This record placed the broadsheet in the awardees’ hall of fame.

PMAP again conferred the award to Inquirer in 2018.

Other recipients in the 9th Makatao Awards for Media Excellence are as follows:

  • Best radio public affairs program: Turo Turo sa dzMM Teleradyo
  • Best radio public affairs program host: Jose Lina Jr.
  • Best radio news program: Gising Pilipinas
  • Best radio news program anchor: Johnson L. Manabat
  • Radio station of the year: dzMM Radyo Patrol 630
  • Best TV public affairs program: I-Witness: Labor of Love
  • Best TV public affairs program host: Jessica Soho
  • Best TV news program: State of the Nation with Jessica Soho
  • Best TV news program snchor: Jessica Soho
  • TV station of the year: GMA News TV
Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: newspaper of the year, Philippine Daily Inquirer, PMAP
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

News that matters

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

© Copyright 1997-2022 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.