Otso Diretso slate wins senatorial race in Naga City

/ 06:21 PM May 14, 2019
Otso Diretso slate wins senatorial race in Naga City

Madalo Rep. Gary Alejano (left) takes a group shot on stage at the UP Diliman Sunken Garden on Wednesday, May 8, 2019. With him (going right, front) are human rights lawyer Chel Diokno, former Solicitor General Florin Hilbay, election lawyer Romulo Macalintal, (from left, back) Sen. Bam Aquino, former House Deputy Speaker Erin Tañada, Marawi civic leader Samira Gutoc, and former Interior Secretary Mar Roxas. (Photo by GABRIEL PABICO LALU / INQUIRER.net)

MANILA, Philippines — The eight candidates of Otso Diretso might have failed to secure a spot in the Magic 12 in the overall unofficial count, but they dominated the list in Naga City, Camarines Sur – the bailiwick of Vice President Leni Robredo.

Data from the Commission on Elections (Comelec) Transparency Server as of 3:50 p.m. showed not a single candidate from the main senatorial lineup of President Rodrigo Duterte’s Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban) entered the top 12 in Naga City.


However, bets endorsed by Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte’s Hugpong ng Pagbabago, namely Cynthia Villar, Pia Cayetano, and Sonny Angara; and independent candidate Grace Poe completed the top 12 in Robredo’s hometown.

According to election returns from Naga City, reelectionist Senator Bam Aquino led the pack in the senatorial race, followed by former Interior Secretary Mar Roxas, human rights lawyer Chel Diokno, Marawi City civic leader Samira Gutoc, and Magdalo Rep. Gary Alejano.


Poe came in at 6th place with former Quezon Rep. Erin Tañada, veteran election lawyer Romy Macalintal, and former Solicitor General Florin Hilbay behind her at 7th, 8th, and 9th spots, respectively.

Villar, Cayetano, and Angara finished 10th, 11th, and 12th, respectively, in Naga City.

The breakdown of votes in the senatorial race in Naga City according to partial results from Comelec’s Transparency Server were as follows:

  • Bam Aquino – 56,385
  • Mar Roxas – 46,945
  • Chel Diokno – 43,336
  • Samira Gutoc – 42,188
  • Gary Alejano – 41,380
  • Grace Poe – 39,736
  • Erin Tañada – 37,380
  • Romy Macalintal – 37,031
  • Florin Hilbay – 32,853
  • Cynthia Villar – 30, 391
  • Pia Cayetano – 24,989
  • Sonny Angara – 24,157

Initial information from Comelec showed 79,028 of the 105,366 registered voters in the Naga City had cast their votes on May 13.

As candidates backed by the Duterte administration ruled in the overall partial, unofficial count, which presents their likely victory in the senatorial race, some Otso Diretso candidates have already conceded defeat, acknowledging “the will of the people is supreme.”

They, however, considered their bid in this year’s midterm polls as a “rewarding experience.”  /kga



8 bets in unofficial Magic 12 backed by PDP-Laban, HnP

Otso Diretso’s Gutoc, Tañada, Hilbay concede

Macalintal concedes as opposition tanks in unofficial tally

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: 2019 election, Election, Election 2019, Local news, May 13, midterm election, Naga City, news, Otso Diretso, Philippine elections, Philippine news updates, Politics, Vice President Leni Robredo
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.