Otso Diretso's Gutoc, Tañada, Hilbay concede | Inquirer News

Otso Diretso’s Gutoc, Tañada, Hilbay concede

/ 01:14 PM May 14, 2019

MANILA, Philippines – Opposition senatorial candidates Samira Gutoc, Erin Tañada and Florin Hilbay have conceded their defeat in the midterm elections but vowed to remain vigilant as two other fellow Otso Diretso candidates, Sen. Bam Aquino and former Sen. Mar Roxas,  are still within striking distance of the winners’ circle.

“It is with mixed feelings that I concede the senatorial race to those who won the vote of the people. Quote unquote won because we still are Otso Diretso and we are eight. The battle of Bam and the battle of Mar is our battle,” Gutoc, a civic leader from Marawi, said in a press briefing, Tuesday.

As of 11:26 a.m., 94.47 percent of nationwide election returns (ERs) or 82,996 of 87,851  ERs have already been transmitted to the transparency server.

Gutoc to Sonza: Jokes about me won’t resurrect your dead journo career

Marawi civic leader Samira Gutoc (Photo from Otso Diretso)

The Parish Pastoral Council for Responsible Voting (PPCRV) transparency server’s partial and unofficial tally also bared that no opposition candidate made it to the top 12, with Aquino in 14th and Roxas in 16th spot.


While they accepted their loss, Tañada said they would never concede their principles.

“I’d like to concede and congratulate all those who won the elections. Alam naman namin na pumasok kami sa laban na ito na walang kasiguruhan na mananalo,” the former congressman said.

“Oo nga we conceded in the elections but we will never concede our principles itutuloy po namin ang laban pong ito,” he added.

Hilbay, a former solicitor general, meanwhile said he respects the results of the elections. He also thanked his volunteers.

“The will of the people is supreme, so congratulations to all the winners, may you serve the country well,” he said.

Veteran election lawyer and Otso Diretso contender Romulo Macalintal also conceded earlier.


READ: Macalintal concedes as opposition tanks in unofficial tally

The other Otso Diretso members are Magdalo Rep. Gary Alejano and human rights lawyer Chel Diokno.

As of 11:26 a.m., unofficial and partial results showed Diokno in 21st place, Alejano 23rd, Gutoc 25th, Macalintal 26th, Tañada 27th and Hilbay 29th. (Editor: Gilbert S. Gaviola)

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

RELATED STORY: Pangilinan: Fight does not end with May polls

TAGS: concede, Gutoc, Hilbay, Tañada

© Copyright 1997-2024 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.