Olympic silver medalist Diaz, seven others 2017 TOYM awardees | Inquirer News

Olympic silver medalist Diaz, seven others 2017 TOYM awardees

/ 07:30 AM January 11, 2018

An Olympian, educators, a law enforcer, a journalist, a musician and an indigenous community advocate made up the 2017 edition of The Outstanding Young Men (TOYM), which honors those whose achievements have led to “positive changes in the nation.”

The honorees are Hidilyn F. Diaz (sports), Byron F. Allatog (government service/law enforcement), Cirilo Joseph M. Javier (arts in music), Eugenio P. Mende (veterinary medicine), Ronaldo C. Reyes (education), Datu Jason Roy T. Sibug (community development), Mark Anthony J. Torres (government service education), and Chiara Anne G. Zambrano (journalism and mass communication).


They were selected from a pool of nominees under 41 years old as of end-2017.

Diaz bagged a silver medal in weightlifting during the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, ending the country’s 20-year medal drought.


Police Superintendent Allatog led a drug-clearing operation in Bogo City, Cebu, where he serves as chief of police.

Javier found fame as the new music director of Hong Kong Disneyland.

Mende’s patented research in the United States paved the way for diagnostic kits designed to control the most economically damaging swine virus infection in the world.

Reyes has implemented projects like Rain Gauge and Chem-Connect, enhancing his students’ scientific literacy.

Sibug is behind a program that seeks to protect and promote the rights of indigenous communities.

Torres promotes dialogue to raise awareness on nonviolent settlement of conflicts.

Zambrano has earned distinction for her documentaries.

The awards, an annual event of JCI Philippines, is co-sponsored by PLDT Inc., Gerry Roxas Foundation and TOYM Foundation Inc.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: 2017 TOYM, Byron F. Allatog, Chiara Anne G. Zambrano, Cirilo Joseph M. Javier, Datu Jason Roy T. Sibug, Eugenio P. Mende, Hidilyn F. Diaz, Mark Anthony J. Torres, Ronaldo C. Reyes
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

News that matters

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

© Copyright 1997-2022 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.