Next for DoTR: Common toll pay system for 13 expressways

By: - Reporter / @JeromeAningINQ
/ 06:18 AM September 15, 2017

Motorists going north or south from Metro Manila and vice versa may soon enjoy a smoother journey with the setup of a common toll payment system that will be implemented in over a dozen expressways in Luzon.

The Department of Transportation (DoTr), Department of Public Works and Highways, and Bases Conversion and Development Authority are signing a memorandum of agreement today with expressway operators to unify toll collection.


Under a unified collection, a motorist traveling from the capital to Baguio City, for example, will get an entry ticket at Northern Luzon Expressway and pay when he exits the Tarlac-Pangasinan-La Union Expressway.

The MOA for Toll Interoperability will be signed by 17 companies operating the 13 expressways in Luzon, whether operational or undergoing construction, to smoothly and fairly implement interoperability of their respective Cash Payment and Electronic Toll Collection (ETC) systems, the DOTr said in a statement.


Under the MOA, expressway operators will be required to update their collection systems to allow interoperability and integration.

The payment collection shall be enforced six months from the signing of the MOA.

The parties will also explore the use of debit cards under the same system.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Bases Conversion and Development Authority, Department of Transportation, NLEX, toll, TPLEx
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.