Drilon leads race for Senate Magic 12 | Inquirer News

Drilon leads race for Senate Magic 12

/ 03:10 AM May 05, 2016

Of the probable winners in the senatorial race, five belong to the Liberal Party, four are independent candidates, two are members of the Nationalist People’s Coalition and one each from the United Nationalist Alliance and Akbayan party-list group, according to results of the latest Pulse Asia survey.

Leading the race is Senate President Franklin Drilon (47.8 percent), followed by Sen. Vicente “Tito” Sotto III (43.5 percent) and former Senators Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan (41.9 percent), Juan Miguel “Migz” Zubiri (38.9 percent) and Panfilo Lacson (38.5 percent).


Completing the Top 13 are boxing superstar Manny Pacquiao (37 percent), former Akbayan Rep. Risa Hontiveros (36.7 percent), former Technical Education and Skills Development Authority Director General Joel Villanueva (35.5 percent), Sen. Sergio Osmeña III (35 percent), former Sen. Richard “Dick” Gordon (34.1 percent), former Justice Secretary Leila de Lima (33.8 percent), Sen. Ralph Recto (32.6 percent) and Valenzuela City Rep. Sherwin “Win” Gatchalian (29.9 percent).

Just outside the winning circle are Sen. Teofisto “TG” Guingona III (25.6 percent), former Metropolitan Manila Development Authority Chair Francis Tolentino (24.6 percent), Manila Vice Mayor Isko Moreno (24.5 percent) and Leyte Rep. Martin Romualdez (22.8 percent).


Pulse Asia found that 33 percent of 4,000 respondents, who are registered voters, had already completed their senatorial slate of 12 candidates.

The poll, commissioned by ABS-CBN TV network, was conducted on April 26-29. It had a margin of error of plus-or-minus 1.5 percentage points.


Pacquiao slugs his way to No. 3 in senatorial poll

Sotto, Drilon top Senate bets in latest survey

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.
Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Akbayan Rep. Risa Hontiveros, Drilon, Elections 2016, Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan, Franklin Drilon, Joel Villanueva, Juan Miguel Zubiri, Leila de Lima, Liberal Party, Manny Pacquiao, Nationalist People’s Coalition, Panfilo Lacson, Sen. Ralph Recto, Sen. Richard “Dick” Gordon, Sen. Sergio Osmeña III, Sen. Vicente "Tito" Sotto III, United Nationalist Alliance, Valenzuela City Rep. Sherwin “Win” Gatchalian
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and
acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

© Copyright 1997-2022 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.