More Metro LGUs adopt storm-hit areas

Leyte, Samar towns assigned to south Metro cities, Manila
By: - Reporter / @jgamilINQ
/ 01:45 AM November 21, 2013

Help is coming to more typhoon-battered municipalities in Samar and Leyte provinces as more Metro Manila local government units have been tasked to help them on the long road to rehabilitation.

The “adopt-a-town” scheme, agreed upon last week in a resolution passed by the Metro Manila Council (MMC) and Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA), has expanded to 10 Visayan towns that will be adopted by five Metro cities.


Parañaque City has been assigned to Maydolong and Balangiga, Eastern Samar; Pasay City to Barauen, Tabon-Tabon and Dagami in Leyte;  Muntinlupa City to Alang-Alang and Jaro in Leyte; Makati City to Carigara, Leyte; and Manila to Balangkayan and Taft in Eastern Samar.

Last week, the MMC announced that Quezon City would adopt Palompon and Tolosa, Sante Fe in Leyte; Pasig City would take care of Mayorga, Palo, Barotac Viejo and Nuevo and Dumangas in Iloilo; Mandaluyong City would be assigned to Isabel and Tanauan, Leyte; Marikina City to Hernani and Lorente, Eastern Samar; San Juan City to Ormoc City and Albuera, Leyte; Taguig City to Gen. McArthur, Guiuan, Salcedo, Mercedes and Quinapondan in Eastern Samar; Las Piñas City to Julita and Dulag, Leyte; Caloocan City to Javier, McArthur and La Paz in Leyte; Malabon City to Bogo, Cebu; Navotas City to Lawaan and Giporlos, Eastern Samar; Valenzuela City to Basey and Marabut in Western Samar; and MMDA to Coron, Palawan and Sulat, Eastern Samar.


Under the resolution, the Metro LGUs will help in the recovery and rehabilitation of their assigned towns for one year, MMDA Chair Francis Tolentino said. The scheme is expected to speed up and spread out the help coming from Metro Manila. The MMC is composed of the 17 mayors of the National Capital Region.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Alang-Alang, Balangiga, Balangkayan, Barauen, Carigara, Dagami, Eastern Samar, Guian, Jaro, Leyte, Local government unit, Makati City, Manila, Maydolong, Metro Manila, Metro Manila council, Metropolitan Manila Development Authority, MMC, MMDA, Muntinlupa City, Parañaque City, Pasay City, Samar, Supertyphoon Yolanda, Tabon-Tabon, Taclobag, Taft, Yolanda aid
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.