Bongbong Marcos appoints officers in charge of new Maguindanao provinces | Inquirer News

Bongbong Marcos appoints officers in charge of new Maguindanao provinces

Maguindanao officers

Newly appointed acting chief executive for Maguindanao del Norte Abdulraof Macacua takes his oath of office Wednesday, April 5, before President Marcos Jr. in Malacañang. Photo courtesy of Cotabato City Mayor Bruce Matabalao

ILIGAN CITY — President Ferdinand Marcos Jr. ended months of wrangling among political leaders in Maguindanao as he appointed on Tuesday officers in charge of the newly created provinces of Maguindanao del Norte and Maguindanao del Sur.

A news release from the Presidential Communications Office (PCO) said Marcos designated erstwhile Maguindanao Gov. Bai Mariam Mangudadatu as acting chief executive of Maguindanao del Sur, and Abdulraof Macacua for Maguindanao del Norte.


“As OIC, Macacua is tasked by the President to maintain peace and stability in the region, a prerequisite for the development of the area and its people,” the PCO said in a statement.


“With the appointment of an OIC in Maguindanao del Norte, the Marcos administration expressed assurance that the province has an able and competent leader while still under the chief executive’s administration and guidance,” it added.

Before his appointment, Macacua was executive secretary of the interim Bangsamoro government. He was also the erstwhile military chief of the Moro Islamic Liberation Front.

Apart from Mangudadatu and Macacua, the president also appointed erstwhile Maguindanao Vice Gov. Bai Ainee Sinsuat as officer in charge of the Office of the Vice Governor in Maguindanao del Norte, and Datu Nathaniel Midtimbang in Maguindanao del Sur. They have yet to take their oaths, the PCO said.

Midtimbang was elected provincial board member during the 2022 election.

Macacua took his oath of office before the president in Malacañang on Wednesday.

Bangsamoro Interior Minister Naguib Sinarimbo, who has supervision over the region’s local governments, said the appointees could take their posts immediately.


Creation of two Maguindanaos

Local chief executives in Maguindanao del Norte have previously called on President Marcos to appoint an OIC in the newly created province to put an end to the ongoing crisis that they said created confusion among provincial employees and residents.

Installing an OIC or an acting governor, they said, would end the confusion among local leaders and residents who wondered who to take orders from and whom to report to a few months after conducting the plebiscite.

In May 2021, former President Rodrigo Duterte signed into law a bill seeking to divide Maguindanao, part of BARMM, into two provinces.

Republic Act No. (RA) 11550 divided the province of Maguindanao into two distinct and independent provinces known as Maguindanao del Norte and Maguindanao del Sur.

Maguindanao del Norte is composed of the municipalities of Barira, Buldon, Datu Blah Sinsuat, Datu Odin Sinsuat, Kabuntalan, Matanog, Northern Kabuntalan, Parang, North Upi, Sultan Kudarat, Sultan Mastura, and Talitay. Datu Odin Sinsuat is Maguindanao del Norte’s seat of government.

The municipalitites of Ampatuan, Buluan, Datu Abdulla Sangki, Datu Anggal Midtimbang, Datu Hoffer Ampatuan, Datu Montawal, Datu Paglas, Datu Piang, Datu Salibo, Datu Saudi Ampatuan, Datu Unsay, Gen. Salipada K. Pendatun, Guindulungan, Mamasapano, Mangudadatu, Pagalungan, Paglat, Pandag, Rajah Buayan, Sharif Aguak, Sharif Saydona Mustafa, Sultan sa Barongis, Talayan, and South Upi comprise Maguindanao del Sur. Its seat of government is Buluan.

Under the law, the capital towns and seats of government of the provinces of Maguindanao del Norte and Maguindanao del Sur shall be the municipalities of Datu Odin Sinsuat and Buluan, respectively.

Both provinces will have corporate powers and general powers that include having a common seal and having the power to create its sources of revenue and to levy taxes, fees, and charges among others.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

READ: Maguindanao Del Norte, Maguindanao Del Sur officially now provinces

lzb, je
TAGS: Appointments, Bongbong Marcos, Maguindanao

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.