With Maguindanao split, PNP gears up for new prov'l police office | Inquirer News

With Maguindanao split, PNP gears up for new prov’l police office

/ 04:10 PM September 21, 2022


COTABATO CITY — Police authorities in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) are gearing up to create a new provincial police office after the ratification of RA 11550 that divided Maguindanao into two provinces.

Brigadier General John Guyguyon, BARMM police director, said they had strengthened structural changes to uphold the law and guarantee peace and order in the now-divided Maguindanao province.


The people of Maguindanao, in a plebiscite on Sept. 17, voted to create Maguindanao del Norte and Maguindanao del Sur.


The Police Regional Office-Bangsamoro Autonomous Region (Pro-Bar) has started preparations to staff, restructure, and reorganize the police offices for Maguindanao del Norte and Maguindanao del Sur.

While preparations are underway, Guyguyon said Pro-Bar “will continue to carry out the security measures in Maguindanao and intensify law enforcement operations while Maguindanao undergoes its transition period.”

He said preparations, in coordination with Camp Crame, include the identification and location of the new Police Provincial Office for Maguindanao del Norte and the development of the organizational structure for each of the new police provincial offices.

It also includes the absorption of subordinate municipal police stations and provincial mobile force companies after the National Police Commission’s directives for the establishment of the two provinces.

Guyguyon said the Maguindanao Police Provincial Office would oversee the peace and order of the whole Maguindanao until such time that a new provincial office in Maguindanao del Norte is established.

Datu Odin Sinsuat town is the provincial capital of Maguindanao del Norte, where the new police provincial office may be established.


“We are finalizing the acquisition of lands for the capitol grounds, capitol buildings, provincial offices, including police officers,” Vice Gov. Ainee Sinsuat told reporters after the “Yes” vote won by a landslide during the plebiscite.

Maguindanao del Norte will be composed of the towns of Barira, Buldon, Datu Blah Sinsuat, Datu Odin Sinsuat, Kabuntalan, Matanog, Northern Kabuntalan, Parang, North Upi, Sultan Kudarat, Sultan Mastura, and Talitay. Datu Odin is the proposed capital.

Maguindanao del Norte

Maguindanao del Sur will be composed of Ampatuan, Buluan, Datu Abdullah Sangki, Datu Anggal Midtimbang, Datu Hoffer Ampatuan, Datu Montawal, Datu Paglas, Datu Piang, Datu Salibo, Datu Saudi Ampatuan, Datu Unsay, Gen. Salipada K. Pendatun, Guindulungan, Mamasapano, Mangudadatu, Pagalungan, Paglat, Pandag, Rajah Buayan, Shariff Aguak, Shariff Saydona Mustafa, Sultan sa Barongis, Talayan, and South Upi.

Maguindanao del Sur

For Maguindanao del Sur, the current police provincial office will remain in Shariff Aguak town while the capitol stays in Buluan.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.


Maguindanao Del Norte, Maguindanao Del Sur officially now provinces

Maguindanao split augurs well for residents, says execlzb

TAGS: Maguindanao

© Copyright 1997-2024 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.