Majority elects officials, members of House committees | Inquirer News

Majority elects officials, members of House committees

/ 11:31 PM August 03, 2022
House of Representatives starts first regular session of 19th Congress. STORY: Majority elects officials, members of House committees

The House of Representatives started the first regular session of the 19th Congress on Wednesday, Aug. 3, 2022. (Photo from a live stream posted on the Facebook account of the House of Representatives)

MANILA, Philippines — Committees in the House of Representatives started to fill up as the majority started electing members and panel officials during Wednesday’s session.

Senior Deputy Majority Floor Leader Rep. Alexander Marcos named the majority lawmakers who would be part of several standing and special committees.


Among those nominated were Bohol Third District Rep. Kristine Alexie Tutor as chair of the civil service and professional regulation committee and San Jose del Monte City Rep. Florida Robes as chair of the good government and public accountability.

The House approved Marcos’ motion.


Here are the other majority lawmakers grouped according committee designations:

Commission on Appointments (members for majority)

  • Pangasinan Fifth District Rep. Ramon Guico Jr.
  • Cavite Second District Rep. Lani Mercado-Revilla
  • Camiguin Rep. Jurdin Jesus Romualdo
  • Bataan Second District Rep. Albert Garcia
  • Camarines Sur Second District Rep. LRay Villafuerte
  • Negros Oriental 2nd District Rep. Manuel Sagarbarria
  • Bacolod City Rep. Greg Gasataya
  • Sagip Rep. Rodante Marcoleta
  • Surigao 2nd District Rep. Johnny Pimentel
  • GP Party Rep. Jose Gay Padiernos

Electoral Tribunal (members for majority)

  • Davao Second District Rep. Vincent Garcia
  • Cebu Third District Rep. Pablo John Garcia
  • Batangas Third District Rep. Maria Theresa Collantes
  • Davao Oriental First District Rep. Nelson Dayanghirang
  • Bulacan Fourth District Rep. Linabelle Villarica
  • ABONO Rep. Robert Raymund Estrella

Committee on Agrarian Reform (vice chairperson)

  • Negros Oriental Second District Rep. Manuel Sagarbarria
  • La Union First District Rep. Francisco Ortega

Committee on Agriculture and Food (vice chairperson)

  • Zamboanga del Sur Second District Rep. Jeyzel Victoria
  • Negros Occidental Second District Rep. Alfredo Marañon III
  • Nueva Ecija Second District Rep. Joseph Gilbert Violago
  • Tarlac Third District Rep. Noel Rivera
  • Pusong Pinoy Rep. Jernie Jett Nisay

Committee on Appropriations (vice chairperson)

  • Isabela First District Rep. Antonio Albano
  • Rizal First District Rep. Michael John Duavit
  • Mandaluyong City Rep. Neptali Gonzales II
  • Aklan Second District Rep. Teodorico Haresco
  • Isabela Second District Rep. Ed Christopher Go
  • Pangasinan First District Rep. Arthur Celeste
  • Negros Occidental Sixth District Rep. Mercedes Alvarez
  • Camarines Sur Fourth District Rep. Arnie Fuentebella
  • Pangasinan Third District Rep. Rachel Arenas
  • Bukidnon Third District Rep. Jose Maria Zubiri Jr.
  • Sulu First District Rep. Samier Tan
  • Manila Sixth District Rep. Bienvenido Abante Jr.

Committee on Aquaculture and Fisheries Resources (vice chairperson)


  • Batangas Third District Rep. Maria Theresa Collantes

Committee on Banks and Financial Intermediaries (vice chairpersons)

  • LPGMA Rep. Allan Ty
  • Antique Rep. Antonio Legarda Jr.
  • Bukidnon First District Rep. Jose Manuel Alba

Committee on Basic Education and Culture (vice chairpersons)

  • Maguindanao and Cotabato City Second District Rep. Mohamad Paglas
  • Kalinga Rep. Irene Gay Saulog
  • Sorsogon First District Rep. Marie Bernadette Escudero

Committee on Bicol Recovery and Economic Development (vice chairperson)

  • BHW Rep. Angelica Natasha Co

Committee on Climate Change (vice chairperson)

  • Negros Oriental First District Rep. Jocelyn Limkaichong

Committee on Constitutional Amendments (vice chairpersons)

  • Iloilo Third District Rep. Lorenz Defensor
  • Quezon City Sixth District Rep. Ma. Victoria Co-Pilar
  • Cavite Third District Rep. Roy Loyola

Committee on Cooperative Development (vice chairpersons)

  • South Cotabato First District Rep. Isidro Lumayag
  • Manila Third District Rep. Joel Chua

Committee on Creative Industry and Performing Arts (vice chairperson)

  • Leyte Fourth District Rep. Richard Gomez

Committee on Dangerous Drugs (vice chairpersons)

  • Patrol Rep. Jorge Bustos
  • Camarines Sur Fourth District Rep. Arnie Fuentebella

Committee on Disaster Resilience (vice chairpersons)

  • [email protected] Rep. Anthony Rolando Golez Jr.
  • Tutok to Win Rep. Samuel Verzosa Jr.
  • Lanao del Sur First District Rep. Zia Alonto Adiong

Committee on East Asian Growth Area (vice chairpersons)

  • Davao del Sur Rep. John Tracy Cagas
  • Palawan Second District Rep. Jose Alvarez
  • Kusug Tausug Rep. Shernee Tan-Tambut

Committee on Ecology (vice chairpersons)

  • Kalinga Lone District Rep. Allen Jesse Mangaoang
  • Zamboanga del Norte Second District Rep. Glona Labadlabad

As a rule, the majority floor leader and other officials of the majority bloc, along with deputy speakers are automatically included as ex-officio members of standing committees, which is why the leaders’ name were no longer mentioned.


Minority’s choice of members elected to committees gets House nod

House sets schedule for 19th Congress’ first regular session

House gears for business: 60 chairmanships filled


Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.
Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: 19th Congress, House of Representatives committees
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and
acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

© Copyright 1997-2022 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.