9 more Velasco allies become deputy speakers | Inquirer News

9 more Velasco allies become deputy speakers

/ 06:06 PM December 07, 2020

9 more Velasco allies become deputy speakers

House of Representatives. INQUIRER.net FILE PHOTO

MANILA, Philippines — The House of Representatives elected on Monday nine more allies of Speaker Lord Allan Velasco as deputy speakers.

They are Negros Oriental 3rd District Rep. Arnulfo Tevez Jr., Pampanga Rep. Juan Pablo “Rimpy” Bondoc, Valenzuela City Rep. Eric Martinez, Bagong Henerasyon partylist Rep. Bernadette Herrera-Dy, Ilocos Sur 2nd District Rep. Kristine Singson-Meehan, Zamboanga del Sur 1st District Rep. Divina Grace Yu, Sarangani Rep. Rogelio Pacquiao, Valenzuela 1st District Rep. Weslie Gatchalian, and Manila Rep. Bienvenido Abante Jr.


Velasco administered the oath for the new deputy speakers during the House session also on Monday.


Velasco’s party-mates at the PDP-Laban, Rep. Johnny Pimentel and Aurelio Gonzales Jr. were stripped of their posts as deputy speakers but were appointed to new positions.

Pimentel is now chair of the special committee on strategic intelligence, replacing Rep. Fredenil Castro. At the same time, Gonzales was appointed as chair of the special committee on bases conversion, replacing Rep. Francis Gerald Abaya.

Rep. Tyrone Agabas is now deputy majority leader, replacing Herrera-Dy. Rep. Amihilda Sancopan, meanwhile, is the assistant majority leader, replacing Singson-Meehan.

Rep. Munir Arbison is named a member of the House contingent to the Commission on Appointments, replacing Rep. Benjamin Agarao Jr.

Rep. John Reynald Tiangco is chair of the committee on trade and industry, following Gatchalian’s election as deputy speaker.

Rep. Sandra Eriguel takes over as chairperson of the committee on interparliamentary relations and diplomacy, replacing Yu.


Eriguel’s previous post as chairperson of the committee on social services is now given to Rep. Alfred Vargas.

Rep. Fred Guillas is appointed as a minority representative member to the special committee on strategic intelligence.

This is the latest shakeup at the House leadership following Velasco’s election as Speaker in October.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.


House revamp in motion: Cayetano-ally Villafuerte out as deputy speaker

Rep. Camille Villar declines deputy speakership

TAGS: Arnie Teves, House of Representatives, Politics

© Copyright 1997-2024 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.