Manila court orders arrest of CPP’s Joma, 37 others over 80s ‘purge’ |

Manila court orders arrest of CPP’s Joma, 37 others over 80s ‘purge’

/ 12:45 PM September 06, 2019


MANILA, Philippines — A Manila court has ordered the arrest of exiled Communist Party of the Philippines (CPP) founding chair Jose “Joma” Maria Sison and 37 others over the so-called “purge” in the 1980s.

Manila Regional Trial Court Branch 32 issued the arrest warrant for 15 counts of murder in connection with the Inopacan massacre. Government agents had discovered a mass grave in Inopacan, Leyte where they also said the skeletons of 15 people killed in the CPP purge were found.


A copy of the arrest order, dated August 28, 2019, was furnished to the media on Friday.


READ: Red leaders arraigned for 1980s ‘purge’ killings

Aside from Sison, the Manila court also ordered the arrest of the following individuals:

  • Juliet Sison
  • Rodolfo Salas
  • Leo Velasco
  • Jose Luneta
  • Geronimo Pasetes
  • Prudencio Calubid
  • Luis Jalandone
  • Sarmiento Eduardo
  • Francisco Pascual, Jr.
  • Mil Lominion
  • Fortunato Felicilda
  • Benjamin Beringel
  • Quirino Quinawayan
  • Fernando Rachel
  • Pecario Sonana
  • Jesus Solayao
  • Lino Salazar
  • Alfredo Taladro
  • Tito Gabar
  • Muco Lubong
  • Felix Dumali
  • Ciriaca Malimot
  • Luzviminda Orillo
  • Anselmo Balduhesa
  • Alfredo Mabingay
  • Bertino Oroza
  • Bonifacio Padoc
  • Rodrigo Paplona
  • Prescillono Beringel
  • Anastacio Dorias
  • Nick Ruiz
  • Sammy Labarda
  • Charlie Fortaliza
  • Luis Villena
  • Rolando Caballera
  • Donata Lambrento
  • Luz Abejo

The court did not recommend bail for all the 38 accused. /kga

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: 1980s, Communism, CPP, Insurgency, Local news, Nation, national news, NDFP, News, NPA, Politics, purge, Rebel, suit

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.