Cynthia Villar still richest senator with P3.7B net worth | Inquirer News

Cynthia Villar still richest senator with P3.7B net worth

By: - Reporter / @MAgerINQ
/ 11:54 AM May 27, 2019


Sen. Cynthia Villar. FILE PHOTO

MANILA, Philippines — Senator Cynthia Villar, the topnotcher in the May 2019 senatorial race, is still the richest member of the Senate.

As of December 31, 2018, Villar’s net worth was at P3,719,941,858 as shown on the list of the senators’ statement of assets, liabilities and net worth posted on the Senate website.


Villar’s wealth grew from P3,611,260,766 in 2017.



READ: Cynthia Villar remains richest senator

Her husband, former Senate President Manny Villar, was also one of the wealthiest in the Philippines with an estimated net worth of $5.5 billion based on the Forbes Magazine’s 2019 list of the wealthiest people on the planet. He ranked 317th globally.

World-boxing champion-turned-Senator Manny Pacquiao remained the second richest senator with P3,005,808,000.

Like Sen. Villar, Pacquiao also became richer in 2018 compared to his declared net worth of P2,946,315,029.93 in 2017.

Senator Villar had no declared liabilities in 2018 while Pacquiao had P146,005,728.


The third richest senator was Senate President Pro Tempore Ralph Recto with P555,324,479.82.

Opposition Senator Antonio Trillanes IV was the poorest last year with only P7,533, 012.10 declared net worth last year.

Trillanes had total assets amounting to P15,909,800 but also had P8,376,787.90 in liabilities.

Below is the complete ranking of the senators based on their declared net worth as of December 31, 2018. (Editor: Cenon B. Bibe Jr.)

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.


  1. Senator Cynthia Villar P3.719B
  2. Senator Manny Pacquiao P3.005B
  3. Senator Ralph Recto P555M
  4. Senator Juan Miguel Zubiri P182M
  5. Senator Sonny Angara P135M
  6. Senator JV Ejercito P132M
  7. Senator Franklin Drilon P97M
  8. Senator Sherwin Gatchalian P96M
  9. Senator Grace Poe P93M
  10. Senator Richard Gordon P71M
  11. Senator Vicente “Tito” Sotto III P70M
  12. Senator Nancy Binay P60M
  13. Senator Loren Legarda P56M
  14. Senator Bam Aquino P45M
  15. Senator Panfilo Lacson P42M
  16. Senator Koko Pimentel P28M
  17. Senator Joel Villanueva P26M
  18. Senator Gringo Honasan P25M
  19. Senator Kiko Pangilinan P16M
  20. Senator Risa Hontiveros P15M
  21. Senator Chiz Escudero P10M
  22. Senator Leila de Lima P7.7M
  23. Senator Antonio Trillanes P7.5M
senators saln 2018

PHOTO from Senate website

TAGS: News, poorest, Richest, SALN, Senate

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.