LP has only 2 poll winners in Eastern Visayas

/ 12:54 PM May 22, 2019

TACLOBAN CITY — The once dominant Liberal Party (LP) can claim only two poll winners in Eastern Visayas in the midterm elections.

Samar Rep. Edgar Mary Sarmiento was reelected for his second term while Paul Daza was chosen as a congressman for Northern Samar’s first congressional district.


Sarmiento defeated outgoing Samar Vice Gov. Stephen James Tan, who ran under the Nacionalista Party.

The reelected congressman is the brother of former Interior Secretary Mel Senen Sarmiento who served during the administration of former president Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino.


Congressman-elect Daza is the son of outgoing Rep. Raul Daza, who was once the national president of the LP.

The incoming congressman defeated Harlin Abayon, a former congressman.

The elder Daza, who is serving his third term, said only 38 LP members across the country won during the recently-concluded midterm polls.

Most of the winners in the region, particularly for governor and Congress, were once LP members but now belong to the ruling party, Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan. (Editor: Leti Boniol)

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: #VotePH2019, Congress, Eastern Visayas, elections 2019, Liberal Party, LP, winners
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.