Wednesday, September 19, 2018
  • share this

42 SAF commandos receive PNP Medal of Valor

By: - Reporter / @JhoannaBINQ
/ 06:30 PM April 17, 2018

Three years after they were killed in a bloody clash with Moro rebels in Maguindanao, the remaining 42 members of the Special Action Force (SAF) who have yet to receive the Philippine National Police’s (PNP) highest honor received the award posthumously from President Rodrigo Duterte on Tuesday.

The surviving kin of the SAF commandos received the Medal of Valor or Medalya ng Kagitingan in a Malacañang ceremony attended by officials from the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) and the Philippine National Police led by DILG officer-in-charge, Secretary Eduardo M. Año, and PNP Chief, Director General Ronald “Bato” M. Dela Rosa.


Forty-four SAF troopers were killed in the police operation against Malaysian terrorist Zulkifli Abdhir, also known as Marwan, in Mamasapano, Maguindanao on January 25, 2015.

Two of the officers – Chief Insp. Gednat Tabdi and Police Officer (PO) 3 Romeo Cempron – earlier received the same award in 2016 from former President Benigno Aquino III.


The PNP Medal of Valor is the highest award given to a police officer for acts of “conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of life and limb above and beyond the call of duty.”

“To qualify for the award, a member of the PNP must perform in action a deed of personal bravery and self-sacrifice above and beyond the call of duty so conspicuous as to distinguish himself clearly above his comrades in the performance of more than ordinary hazardous service,” PNP spokesperson Chief Supt. John C. Bulalacao explained.

The following received the award on Tuesday:

  2. SPO1 Rodrigo F. Acob Jr.
  3. PO3 Chum G Agabon
  4. SPO1 Robert D Aliaga
  5. PCINSP Cyrus Paleyan Anniban
  6. SPO1 Jedz-In Abubakar Asjali
  7. PO3 Noel Nebrida Balaca
  8. PO3 Richelle S Baluga
  9. PO3 Glenn Berecio Badua
  10. PO2 Russel Bawaan Bilog
  11. PO3 Godofredo Basak Cabanlet
  12. PO2 Windel Llano Candano
  13. PO2 Loreto Guyab Capinding
  14. SPO1 Peterson I. Carap
  15. PO2 Gringo C Cayang-o
  16. PO2 Mark Lory O Clemencio
  17. PCInsp Ryan Ballesteros Pabalinas
  18. PCInsp John Garry Alcantara Erana
  19. PCInsp Max Jim Ramirez Tria
  20. PSInsp Joey Sacristan Gamutan
  21. PSInsp Rennie Tayrus
  22. SPO2 Lover L. Inocencio
  23. SPO1 Virgel S. Villanueva
  24. SPO1 Andres Viernes Duque Jr.
  25. SPO1 Noel Onangey Golocan
  26. SPO1 Junrel Narvas Kibete
  27. SPO1 John Lloyd Rebammonte Sumbilla
  28. PO3 Amman Misuari Esmulla
  29. PO3 Roger C. Cordero
  30. PO3 Nicky DC Nacino
  31. PO3 Joel Bimidang Dulnuan
  32. PO3 Franklin Cadap Danao
  33. PO3 Walner Faustino Danao
  34. PO3 Jerry Dailay Kayob
  35. PO3 Noble Sungay Kiangan
  36. PO3 Ephraim G. Mejia
  37. PO3 Omar Agacer Nacionales
  38. PO3 Rodel Eva Ramacula
  39. PO3 Romeo Valles Senin I
  40. PO2 Angel C. Kodiamat
  41. PO2 Joseph Gumatay Sagonoy
  42. PO2 Oliebeth Ligutan Viernes

Recipients of the award are entitled to a monthly stipend and other non-cash benefits for life. – eee

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Maguindanao, Medal of Valor, Phil‎ippine National Police, Philippine News, SAF 44, Zulkifli Abdhir
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

10 things we love about Jung Joon-young

September 19, 2018 07:13 PM


Indonesia exports religious take on family planning

September 19, 2018 07:10 PM


Super typhoon shows where Hong Kong can improve

September 19, 2018 07:08 PM


Amazon share of digital ad market on the rise: forecast

September 19, 2018 07:05 PM

© Copyright 1997-2018 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.