LIST: Solons who voted to pursue impeach move vs Sereno

/ 03:17 PM March 08, 2018
CHIEF JUSTICE SERENO IN ST. SCHOLASTICA FORUM / MARCH 07, 2018 Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno speaks during 'Laban ng Kababaihan, Laban ng Bayan', a fourm in defense of women, ethical governance and sovereignty at St. Scholastica College in Manila in celebration of International Women's day. INQUIRER PHOTO / RICHARD A. REYES

Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno speaks during “Laban ng Kababaihan, Laban ng Bayan,” a fourm in defense of women, ethical governance and sovereignty at St. Scholastica College in Manila in celebration of International Women’s day.

The House justice committee has voted that the complaints against Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno have probable cause.

Of the 40 regular and ex-officio members present during the proceedings on Thursday, only two members voted against, saying the case against Sereno was weak and baseless.


The two were Dinagat Islands Rep. Kaka Bag-ao and Quezon City 6th District Rep. Jose Christopher “Kit” Belmonte, who both believed that the complaint was “weak” and “baseless.”

READ: House justice panel finds probable cause to impeach Sereno


Here are the 38 lawmakers who believed that lawyer Lorenzo Gadon’s allegations against the top magistrate have probable cause:

1. Surigao Del Sur 2nd District Rep. Johnny Ty Pimentel
2. Batangas 2nd District Rep. Raneo Abu
3. Ilocos Sur 2nd District Rep. Eric Singson
4. Capiz 2nd District Rep. Fredenil Castro
5. Cebu 3rd District Rep. Gwendolyn Garcia
6. Davao City 2nd District Rep. Mylene Garcia-Albano
7. YACAP party-list Rep. Benhur Lopez
8. Ilocos Norte 1st District Rep. Rodolfo Fariñas
9. South Cotabato 2nd District Rep. Ferdinand Hernandez
10. Pampanga 4th District Rep. Pablo Bondoc
11. Pampanga 4th District Rep. Arthur Defensor
12. Southern Leyte Rep. Roger G. Mercado
13. Zamboanga Sibugay 2nd District Rep. Ann Hofer
14. Quezon City 1st District Rep. Vincent Crisologo
15. Pampanga 3rd District Rep. Aurelio Dong Gonzalez
16. AN WARAY party-list Rep. Victoria Isabel Noel
17. Cebu 1st District Rep. Gerald Anthony Gullas
18. AKO BICOL party-list Rep. Alfredo Garbin
19. ABS party-list Rep. Eugene De Vera
20. COOP-NATCCO party-list Rep. Anthony Bravo
21. Makati City 2nd District Rep. Luis Jose Campos
22. 1-CARE party-list Rep. Carlos Roman Uybarreta
23. SAGIP party-list) Rep. Rodante Marcoleta
24. Antipolo City 2nd District Rep. Romeo Acop
25. KALINGA party-list Rep. Abigail Faye Ferriol-Pascual
26. KABAYAN party-list Rep. Ciriaco Calalang
27. Leyte 3rd District Rep. Vicente Ching Veloso
28. Oriental Mindoro 1st District Rep. Salvador Leachon
29. Misamis Occidental 2nd District Rep. Henry Oaminal
30. Cavite 2nd District Rep. Strike Revilla
31. Cavite 5th District Rep. Roy Loyola
32. Pangasinan 6th District Rep. Marlyn Primicias-Agabas
33. Leyte 4th District Rep. Lucy Gomez
34. Pangasinan 3rd District Rep. Rose Marie Baby Arenas
35. Compostela Valley 2nd District Rep. Ruwel Peter Gonzaga
36. Camiguin Rep. Xavier Jesus Romualdo
37. AKO BICOL party-list Rep. Rodel Batocabe
38. KABAYAN party-list Rep. Ron Salo

House committee chair Rep. Reynaldo Umali has set the next committee meeting on March 14, when the committee report and articles of impeachment are expected to be submitted and voted upon. /jpv

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: 38-2, Bag-ao, Belmonte, House, Impeachment, Sereno
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Carmelo Anthony takes a new outlook to his new team

November 20, 2019 03:32 PM


Sugar essential to life found in meteorites

November 20, 2019 03:12 PM


TD Ramon maintains strength as it crosses Ifugao

November 20, 2019 03:08 PM

© Copyright 1997-2019 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.