SC reorganizes divisions after 2 justices’ retirement

/ 10:57 AM August 13, 2017

People walk past the Supreme Court building in Padre Faura, Manila.  INQUIRER PHOTO / RICHARD A. REYES

The Supreme Court has reorganized its three divisions following the retirement of two of its members.

Associate Justice Bienvenido Reyes reached the mandatory retirement age of 70 last July while Associate Justice Jose Catral Mendoza retired at age 70 on Aug. 13.


Because of their retirement, the composition of the three divisions will be the following:

First Division: Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno (chairperson), Associate Justices Teresita Leonardo De Castro, Mariano Del Castillo, Francis Jardeleza and Noel Tijam.


Second Division: Senior Associate Justice Antonio Carpio (chairperson), Associate Justices Diosdado Peralta, Estela Perlas-Bernabe, Alfredo Benjamin Caguioa and Andres Reyes Jr.

Third Division: Associate Justice Presbitero Velasco (chairperson), Associate Justices Lucas Bersamin, Marvic Leonen, Samuel Martirez with Andres Reyes Jr. as temporary member.

According to the Internal Rules of the Supreme Court, the appointment of a new member of the Court “shall necessitate the reorganization of Divisions at the call of the Chief Justice.”

President Rodrigo Duterte had appointed Martirez, Tijam and Reyes Jr. JE

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Bienvenido Reyes, Jose Catral Mendoza, Maria Lourdes Sereno, reorganize, retire, SC, Supreme Court
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.