Duterte pins medals to soldiers hurt in clash with Abu Sayyaf

/ 07:17 PM July 16, 2017

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte. (File photo by Kiwi Bulaclac of the Presidential Photographers Division)  

ZAMBOANGA CITY – President Duterte, in a brief visit to Jolo, Sulu on Saturday, awarded medals to soldiers who were wounded in a clash with Abu Sayyaf bandits.

Capt. Jo-Ann Petinglay, spokesperson of the military’s Western Mindanao Command, said the awardees included two officers and 10 enlisted personnel.


The President pinned the soldiers with the Wounded Personnel Medal in a ceremony held at the headquarters of the Joint Task Force Sulu in Camp Teodulfo Bautista in Barangay Busbus in Jolo.

The awardees were 1Lts. Niño John Paner and Ian Solatre, Corporals Alan Bartolome and Jeric Ghil S Villaruz, and Privates First Class Reynan Maristela, Vergel Bali, Rhenievon Saliw-an, Jaifiryll Tamayao, Polard Banggawan, Jeremy Ganagan, Tonie Mar Talatayud and John Paul B Annang.  All are members of the Army’s 21st Infantry Battalion.


The soldiers were wounded in an encounter with an Abu Sayyaf Group under sub-leader Almujer Yaddah in Patikul town on July 8.

The President immediately left after awarding the medals. He also skipped the scheduled “Talk to the troops” session.  SFM

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: 21st Infantry Battalion, abu sayyaf, Acts of terror, Almujer Yaddah, Armed conflict, awards to soldiers, Camp Teodulfo Bautista, Capt. Jo-ann Petinglay, clash, Corporal Alan Bartolome, Corporal Jeric Ghil S Villaruz, Crime, Criminality, Encounter, First Lieutenant Ian Solatre, First Lieutenant Niño John Paner, gun battle, Insurgency, Joint Task Force Sulu, Jolo, Jolo municipality, Patikul municipality, Philippine Army, Philippine president, Private First Class Jaifiryll Tamayao, Private First Class Jeremy Ganagan, Private First Class John Paul B Annang, Private First Class Polard Banggawan, Private First Class Reynan Maristela, Private First Class Rhenievon Saliw-an, Private First Class Tonie Mar Talatayud, Private First Class Vergel Bali, rebellion, Rodrigo Duterte, soldiers, soldiers wounded in action, soldiers wounded in battle, soldiers wounded in combat, Sulu, Terrorism, Western Mindanao Command, Wounded Personnel Medal
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.