This week's milestones | Inquirer News

This week’s milestones

/ 12:20 AM May 07, 2017

May 8, 1967

Davao province was divided into three provinces: Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur and Davao Oriental by virtue of Republic Act No. 4867 authored by then Rep. Lorenzo Sarmiento Sr.


May 12, 1899

Filipino troops, under the command of Emilio Aguinaldo, recaptured the towns of Calumpit and Baliwag from American forces.


May 12, 1962

The celebration of Philippine Independence Day was moved by then President Diosdado Macapagal to June 12 from July 4. On June 12 of that same year, Macapagal and Emilio Aguinaldo commemorated Independence Day at the Aguinaldo Mansion in Kawit, Cavite province.

Compiled by Kathleen de Villa, Inquirer Research

Sources: Inquirer Archives, DOT, Official Calendar of the Republic, Historical Calendar (1521-1969)

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Milestones, News, Regions
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

News that matters

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

© Copyright 1997-2022 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.