This week's milestones | Inquirer News

This week’s milestones

/ 12:00 AM February 26, 2017


(Feb. 26 to Mar. 4)

Feb. 26, 1886
The Audiencia Territorial de Cebu was established. It was composed of a chief justice, a presiding judge, four associate justices and prosecutors. Its jurisdiction extended to adjacent provinces such as Samar, Masbate, Leyte and the Negros Island Region.


Feb. 26, 1937
The municipality of Zamboanga became a city through Commonwealth Act No. 39. Early Malay settlers called it “Jambangan,” which means “land of the flowers.”


March 3, 1899
The first Filipino-owned  newspaper in Cebu province,  La Justicia, published its first issue. One of its founders was former senator and lawyer Vicente Y. Sotto.
Compiled by Kathleen de Villa, Inquirer Research

Sources: Inquirer Archives, DOT, Filipinos in History Vol. IV, Historical Calendar (1521-1969),, Provincial Government of La Union FB page

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: News, Regions

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.