Another Mamasapano survivor makes it to COPS award | Inquirer News

Another Mamasapano survivor makes it to COPS award

/ 06:33 PM September 26, 2016

ANOTHER survivor of the deadly Mamasapano operation joined the 10 policemen chosen as the Country’s Outstanding Police Officers in Service (COPS) for 2016.

In a simple ceremony at Camp Crame on Monday, the Philippine National Police (PNP) officially named the 10 outstanding lawmen chosen by the Metrobank Foundation Inc.


The awardees were:

  • Senior Superintendent Susan Jalla (Crime Laboratory Group);
  • Senior Superintendent Mario Rariza Jr. (Police Community Relations Group);
  • Superintendent Jemuel Siason (Office of the Senior Police Assistant, Secretary of Interior and Local Government);
  • Chief Inspector Ryan Manongdo (Police Regional Office 1);
  • SPO4 Ezrael Lantingan (Police Regional Office 12);
  • SPO3 Hamidhan Tebbeng (Anti-Kidnapping Group);
  • SPO2 Jeffrey Ojao(Police Regional Office 13);
  • SPO1 Mhay Rubio (Police Regional Office 3);
  • SPO1 Nida Gregas (Police Regional Office 6); and
  • PO2 Fatima Lanuza (Police Regional Office 5).

Tebbeng was among the nine members of the 84th Special Action Company (SAC) or “Seaborne” who survived the ill-fated operation against Malaysian terrorist Zulkifli Bin Hir or “Marwan” in Mamasapano, Maguindanao on January 25, 2015.


READ MORE: Mamasapano survivor one of 10 outstanding police officers for 2015

This was the second year an “Oplan Exodus” survivor was feted as one of the outstanding police officers of 2015. PO2 Adolfo Andrada, also a member of the Seaborne company, was awarded last year.

In a press briefing after the ceremony, PNP chief Dir. Gen. Ronald “Bato” dela Rosa recalled the time when Tebbeng and other survivors told the Board of Inquiry (BOI), of which Dela Rosa was a member, what happened during the bloody operation that claimed the lives of 44 elite commandos amid a heavy gunfight with Moro rebels.

“Kahit hindi ko i-explain ang ginawa niyang heroism noong panahon sa Mamasapano, alam ko storya niya sa buhay kasi I was a member of the Board of Inquiry. Nagre-relay ito siya ng kanyang ordeal sa Mamasapano and how he survived, tumutulo ‘yung luha namin. That’s heroism,” Dela Rosa said.

All awardees will receive a gold medal, a trophy, and a P500,000 cash prize each.

The yearly award was started by Metrobank Foundation Incorporated Rotary Club of New Manila East and PS Bank to honor heroic men and women in the police force who are able to gain the support of the community to prevent and solve crimes in their locality.

The four commissioned officers and six non-commissioned officers now join the rank of 128 outstanding police officers who have been honored by the foundation since 2002./rga

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.
Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Country’s Outstanding Police Officers in Service, Mamasapano, Metrobank, Nation, News, PS Bank, Ronald dela Rosa, SAF 44
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and
acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

© Copyright 1997-2022 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.