• share this

Estrada reelected Manila mayor

/ 03:31 PM May 10, 2016

Board of Canvassers Vice-Chairman Fiscal Edward Togonon and CBOC Chairman Atty. Anthonette Aceret raise the hands of Manila Mayor Joseph Ejercito Estrada after winning the mayoralty race of the city of Manila during the election canvassing held at Rizal Memorial Coliseum in Manila.EDWIN BACASMAS

Former President Joseph Estrada won his second term as Manila mayor on Tuesday, narrowly beating former mayor Alfredo Lim.

READ: Estrada confident of Manila mayoralty win


Estrada was proclaimed the winner after garnering 283,149 votes, only 2,685 higher than Lim’s 280,464 votes.

Estrada’s victory will give him fresh three-year mandate.


READ: Estrada sees ‘easy win’ in Manila polls Monday

He first beat Lim in 2013. Lim served as mayor for 12 years.

Manila Representative Amado Bagatsing received 167,829 votes.

Dr. Maria Shielah “Honey” Lacuna-Pangan, daughter of former Manila vice mayor Danny Lacuna, Estrada’s running-mate, topped the vice mayoral race with 268,969 votes.

The City Board of Canvassers also proclaimed the representatives of its six districts, namely Manny Lopez (1st District), Carlo Lopez (2nd district), actor Yul Servo (3rd District), Edward Maceda (4th District), Cristina Bagatsing (5th District) and Sandy Ocampo (6th District). RAM/rga

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Elections 2016, Joseph Estrada, Manila
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2019 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.