Inquirer’s DJ Yap one of 20 ‘Super’ journalists | Inquirer News

Inquirer’s DJ Yap one of 20 ‘Super’ journalists

/ 02:32 AM May 13, 2014

MANILA, Philippines—The Inquirer’s DJ Yap is one of 20 journalists who will receive a SUPER Award for Media for exceptional and unparalleled coverage of Super Typhoon Yolanda on Nov. 8 last year.

SM Foundation Inc. (SMFI) executive director Debbie Sy said the other awardees were:



  • Atom Araullo
  • Ted Failon
  • Ranulfo Docdocan



  • Love Añover
  • Jiggy Manicad
  • Micaela Papa
  • Joecel Huesca
  • Greggy Magdadaro


  • Benjie Dorango
  • Erwin Tulfo

Solar News

  • David Santos

Manila Bulletin

  • Tara Yap

Philippine Star

  • Lelaine Jimenea


  • Lorelei Salarda


  • Jazmin Bonifacio



  • Jimmy Angay-angay

Leyte-Samar Daily Express and Philippine Daily Inquirer

  • Joey Gabieta

Al Jazeera

  • Jamela Alindogan


  • Andrew Stevens

Their crews will also receive awards.

The SUPER Awards for Media will be given out on May 19, 5:30 p.m., at SMX Convention Center in Mall of Asia, Pasay City.

SUPER stands for “Salute to Unparalleled People, Endeavors and Resources.” The awards are a private sector undertaking sponsored by SMFI, the sociocivic arm of the SM group of companies.

Posthumous SUPER awards will also be bestowed on three journalists from Tacloban City who perished while covering the typhoon—Archie Globio of dyBR-Tacloban and Ronald Vinas and Allan Medino of dyVL-Tacloban.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Awards and Prizes, DJ Yap, Media, Philippines, SM Foundation, SUPER Award for Media, SUPER journalists, Yolanda
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

News that matters

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and
acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

© Copyright 1997-2022 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.