Plebiscites in BARMM result in creation of 8 new towns

Plebiscites in BARMM result in creation of 8 new towns, says Comelec

By: - Reporter / @FArgosinoINQ
/ 11:25 AM April 14, 2024

Plebiscites in BARMM result in creation of 8 new towns, says Comelec

FILE PHOTO: BARMM Regional Headquarters

MANILA, Philippines — Most people in Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) have voted for the creation of eight additional municipalities for 63 barangays in North Cotabato, according to the Commission on Elections (Comelec).

In a statement issued on Saturday evening, Comelec said the conduct of the plebiscite was “peaceful and orderly.”


READ: Heat feared to affect turnout for new BARMM towns plebiscite


“Out of the 89,594 registered voters of the participating barangays, a total of 58,970 voters actually voted, with 38,047 voters indicating their ‘yes’ vote to ratify the creation of the eight new Municipalities and 103 voters voting ‘no,’ for an overall voter turnout of 53.27 percent,” the commission revealed.

Following the ratification of Bangsamoro Autonomy Act Nos. 41 to 48, Comelec said these municipalities were created:

Municipality of Pahamuddin (with 12 barangays);

Municipality of Kadayangan (with 7 barangays);

Municipality of Nabalawag (with 7 barangays);

Municipality of Old Kaabakan (with 7 barangays);


Municipality of Kapalawan (with 7 barangays)

Municipality of Malidegao (with 7 barangays)

Municipality of Tugunan (with 9 barangays) and

Municipality of Ligawasan (with 7 barangays)

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

“The peaceful and orderly conduct of the Plebiscites would not have been successful without the invaluable cooperation of its partner agencies, namely the Philippine National Police and the Armed Forces of the Philippines, with the full support of the Local Government Units of the concerned Municipalities,” the commission said.

TAGS: BARMM, plebiscites

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.