Marcos signs law dividing Caloocan barangay into six

Marcos signs law dividing Caloocan barangay into six

By: - Reporter / @JMangaluzINQ
/ 02:18 PM April 05, 2024

PHOTO: Map of Caloocan STORY: Marcos signs law dividing Caloocan barangay into six

MANILA, Philippines – President Ferdinand Marcos Jr. signed on Friday a law dividing Barangay Bagong Silang in Caloocan into six barangays, the Palace said on Friday.

With around 261,000 residents, Barangay Silang is the most populated barangay in the country, and it is also the largest in size.


READ: Senate panel OKs bill seeking to split biggest barangay in PH into six villages


The new barangays will be known as: Barangay 176-A, Barangay 176-B, Barangay 176-C, Barangay 176-D, Barangay 176-E, and Barangay 176-F.

The Commission on Elections will conduct a plebiscite within the newly formed barangays 90 days after the law’s passing.

READ: Barangay autonomy

The measure was proposed by Caloocan 1st District Rep. Oscar “Oca” Malapitan, who was the former mayor of the city.

The Senate approved the bill in February, and Marcos signed the law on April 3.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Bagong Silang, Caloocan

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.