Phivolcs: Magnitude 5.9 earthquake rocks Agusan del Sur

Phivolcs: Magnitude 5.8 earthquake rocks Agusan del Sur

/ 12:28 PM February 10, 2024

Businessman, 2 ex-rebels indicted for killing of Agusan mining executive

Agusan del Sur map. INQUIRER FILES

Updated on February 10, 2024 at 2:48 p.m.

MANILA, Philippines — A magnitude 5.8 earthquake struck Agusan del Sur around Saturday noon, the state seismology bureau said.


According to the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs), the epicenter of the tectonic earthquake was located east of Esperanza.


READ: Mayon Volcano’s unrest decreasing – Phivolcs

It had a depth of focus of 27 kilometers.

The Phivolcs added that the following intensities were felt in the locations below:

Intensity V

  • Agusan del Norte- Las Nieves

Intensity IV

  • Bukidnon- Libona and San Fernando

  • Iligan City

  • Misamis Oriental- City of Gingoog, Jasaan, Magsaysay, and Medina

  • Agusan del Sur- City of Bayugan, Prosperidad, and Talacogon

Intensity III

  • Bohol- Jagna

  • Bukidnon- Baungon, Cabanglasan, Impasug-ong, Kitaotao, City of Malaybalay, Malitbog, Manolo Fortich, Maramag, Quezon, Talakag, and City of Valencia

  • Misamis Oriental- City of El Salvador

  • Davao de Oro- Mawab and Nabunturan

  • Davao del Sur- City of Digos

  • Davao City

  • Surigao del Sur-Hinatuan

Intensity II

  • Bohol- Inabanga, and Loboc

  • Bukidnon- Don Carlos and Kalilangan

  • Camiguin- Catarman,Guinsiliban, Mahinog, Mambajao, and Sagay

  • Davao del Sur- Matanao

  • Cotabato- Banisilan,City of Kidapawan, Makilala, and Tulunan

Intensity I

  • Davao del Sur- Magsaysay

  • Cotabato- Arakan and Kabacan

  • Lanao del Sur- City of Marawi

The following instrumental intensities were also felt, the Phivolcs added:

Intensity IV

  • Cagayan de Oro City

  • Bukidnon- San Fernando and Talakag

  • Davao del Sur- City of Digos

Intensity III

  • Misamis Oriental- Balingasag

  • Surigao del Sur- City of Tandag

Intensity II

  • Cotabato- City of Kidapawan and Banisilan

  • Davao City

  • Sarangani- Alabel and Malungon

Intensity I

  • Davao del Sur- Magsaysay

  • Cotabato- M’lang

  • South Cotabato- Tampakan and Tupi

The Phivolcs likewise said that damages and aftershocks were to be expected after the earthquake.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

READ: Phivolcs: Two earthquakes rock Surigao del Sur

TAGS: Agusan del Sur, Earthquake, Regions

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.