City of San Jose Del Monte’s biggest village now split into 4 — Comelec


MANILA, Philippines — The Commission on Elections (Comelec) on Sunday announced that Barangay (village) Muzon in the City of San Jose del Monte, Bulacan has now been divided into four separate barangays after a successful plebiscite on Saturday.

The Comelec, in a statement, said that 92.51 percent, or 12,324 of the 13,322 residents voted “yes” in the plebiscite to determine whether Barangay Muzon should be split into four, while only 7.27 percent or 969 residents voted “no.”

“Given this clear mandate from the constituency of Barangay Muzon, considered as the most populous area in the City of San Jose del Monte, the original barangay will henceforth be divided into four distinct and independent barangays, namely: Barangay Muzon Proper, Barangay Muzon East, Barangay Muzon West, and Barangay Muzon South,” said Comelec.

The Comelec said that under Republic Act No. 11896, this division “is intimated on the vision of the local governance in improving the delivery of basic social services for the general welfare of the whole constituency of the City.”

“The success of this Plebiscite marks another milestone in the active participation of the Filipino electorate in all electoral exercises, be they large in scale like nationwide automated elections, or smaller in scale like the manually conducted Plebiscites in barangays, municipalities, cities or provinces,” said Comelec.



Senate, House agree on bill dividing most populous village in San Jose Del Monte

Plebiscite under way to divide Bulacan’s largest village