San Juan City Mayor Zamora elected as Metro Manila Council president

The Metro Manila Council names San Juan City Mayor Francis Zamora as its new president. | Photo from San Juan City PIO

The Metro Manila Council names San Juan City Mayor Francis Zamora as its new president. | Photo from San Juan City PIO

MANILA, Philippines — San Juan City Mayor Francis Zamora was elected as president of the Metro Manila Council (MMC) and as the Co-Chairperson of the Regional Development Council (RDC).

This was decided during a joint meeting between the two bodies on Saturday evening.

The position in the MMC is open for those who are senior or 3rd term-mayors of the 17 local government units of the National Capital Region. All five third termers, however, waived their eligibility, ensuring the seat to Zamora who was only on his 2nd term as mayor.

“Una sa lahat, ako po ay nagpapasalamat sa mga bumubuo ng Metro Manila Council, kay MMDA Chairman Artes, sa lahat ng Metro Manila Mayors, maraming salamat po sa tiwala ninyo sa akin,” Zamora said, according to a statement from San Juan City Public Information Office.

(First of all, I am grateful to the members of the Metro Manila Council, to MMDA Chairman Artes, and to all the Metro Manila Mayors, thank you very much for your trust in me.)

According to Zamora, among his priorities was the MMC’s approval of the Single Ticketing System for all 17 LGUs of NCR, which he said he hopes will ease traffic congestion in Metro Manila.

“There is so much going for Metro Manila, our National Capital Region. We have very good schools, very good minds, and very talented people here. Thus, through the efforts of the MMC and the RDC, I am very optimistic that we can continue to lead in nation-building and help the Philippines finally escape the clutches of the COVID-19 pandemic,” Mayor Zamora declared.

Present in the joint meeting were MMDA Chairman Atty. Romando Artes, MMDA Gen. Manager Ret. PCol. Procopio Lipana, Metro Manila Mayors Benjamin Abalos Sr. of Mandaluyong, Maria Sheilah Lacuna of Manila, John Rey Tiangco of Navotas, Emi Calixto-Rubiano of Pasay, Weslie Gatchalian of Valenzuela, Miguel Ponce of Pateros, Dale Malapitan of Caloocan, Jeannie Sandoval of Malabon, and Metro Manila Councilors League Chairman Councilor Keith Peralta of San Juan.


One traffic violation ticket for 17 Metro LGUs revived