Bypassed Cabinet members to be reappointed | Inquirer News

Bypassed Cabinet members to be reappointed

Presidential spokesperson Edwin Lacierda

Malacañang on Thursday said Cabinet members who failed to get confirmation from the Commission on Appointments would again be appointed to their respective posts by President Benigno Aquino III.

Secretary Edwin Lacierda, President Aquino’s spokesperson, also expressed the administration’s hope that the bicameral body would eventually confirm the appointments of the executives.


The executives who have yet to be confirmed include Interior Secretary Jesse Robredo, Social Welfare Secretary Corazon Soliman, Justice Secretary Leila de Lima, Environment Secretary Ramon Paje and Tourism Secretary Ramon Jimenez.


“(President Aquino) has every confidence in the Cabinet secretaries. For one reason or another, their confirmation have yet to be approved. But the President continues to trust in these Cabinet members and so the President will continue to reappoint them,” Lacierda said.

“And we hope that, at certain point in time, the Commission on Appointments will find favor with these five Cabinet secretaries and confirm them,” he added.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Cabinet, Government

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.