Magnitude 5.9 earthquake jolts Maguindanao coastal town | Inquirer News

Magnitude 5.9 earthquake jolts Maguindanao coastal town

/ 03:43 PM August 13, 2022

MANILA, Philippines (Updated) — A magnitude 5.9 earthquake struck a coastal town in Maguindanao on Saturday afternoon, state seismologists reported.

The tremor, which was tectonic in origin, occurred 31 kilometers west of Datu Blah T. Sinsuat town in Maguindanao according to the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) bulletin.


It occurred at 2:25 p.m., with a depth of 62 kilometers.

Phivolcs previously reported that the earthquake occurred in Datu Blah T. Sinsuat’s adjacent landlocked town, South Upi town, with a magnitude of 5.8.


Aftershocks are expected following this earthquake, but the tremor is unlikely to cause damage, according to Phivolcs.

The National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council said there are no reported damages caused by the said earthquake.

Here are the following intensities reported in the said areas:

  • Intensity V – Datu Blah Sinsuat, South Upi, and Upi, Maguindanao; Cotabato City; Esperanza, Lebak, Palimbang, Kalamansig, Sen. Ninoy Aquino, and Bagumbayan, Sultan Kudarat
  • Intensity IV – General Santos City; Zamboanga City; Pagadian City; Isabela City, Basilan; Antipas, Alamada, Tulunan, Pigcawayan, Kabacan, and Banisilan, Cotabato; Koronadal City, Tupi, Polomolok, Santo Niño, Surallah, Tampakan and Banga, South Cotabato; Kiamba and Maitum, Sarangani; Lutayan and Isulan, Sultan Kudarat; Datu Odin Sinsuat and Sultan Kudarat, Maguindanao;
  • Intensity III – Ozamiz City; M’lang, Makilala, and Tantangan, Cotabato; Norala, South Cotabato; Pres. Quirino and Columbio, Sultan Kudarat; Maasim, Sarangani; Pitogo and Labangan, Zamboanga del Sur; Liloy, Zamboanga del Norte; Siay, Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Intensity II – Dipolog City; Cagayan de Oro City; Davao City; Kidapawan City; El Salvador City; Aleosan, Cotabato; Don Carlos, Cabanglasan, and Valencia City, Bukidnon; Malapatan and Malungon, Sarangani; Lambayong, Sultan Kudarat; Leon B. Postigo, Siayan, Sindangan, Gutalac, Tampilisan, Zamboanga del Norte; Ipil, Zamboanga Sibugay; Tubod, Lenamon, Balo-i, Kauswagan, Bacolod, Maigo, Lala, Kapatagan and Iligan City, Lanao del Norte
  • Intensity I – Dapitan City; Malitbog and Libona, Bukidnon; Initao, Misamis Oriental

Instrumental intensities are reported in the following areas:

  • Intensity IV – T’boli, Surallah, Tupi, Santo Niño, Koronadal City, South Cotabato; Kiamba, Sarangani
  • Intensity III – Glan, Maasim, and Alabel, Sarangani; Zamboanga City; Columbio and Isulan, Sultan Kudarat
  • Intensity II – Kidapawan City; Cagayan de Oro, Misamis Oriental; Malaybalay, Bukidnon
  • Intensity I – Davao City; Nabunturan, Davao de Oro; Gingoog City, Misamis Oriental


Magnitude 7 earthquake jolts Abra, other parts of Luzon

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Earthquake, Maguindanao
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

© Copyright 1997-2022 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.