PH terror council tags 6 Reds, 5 others as terrorists | Inquirer News

PH terror council tags 6 Reds, 5 others as terrorists

By: - Reporter / @DYGalvezINQ
/ 09:29 PM June 15, 2022
PH terror council tags 6 Reds, 5 others as terrorists

Hermogenes Esperon Jr. /INQUIRER FILE PHOTO

MANILA, Philippines—The Anti-Terrorism Council (ATC) has tagged 11 persons allegedly linked with Communist Party of the Philippines (CPP), New Peoples’ Army (NPA), Abu Sayyaf Group (ASG) and Daulah Islamiyah as terrorists.

The tagging came in two separate resolutions, signed by ATC vice chair and former military chief Hermogenes Esperon Jr. on May 25 but published in a general circulation paper last Wednesday (June 15).


ATC Resolution No. 31 designated as terrorists six alleged leaders of CPP-NPA-National Democratic Front of the Philippines (NDFP):

  1. Luis Jalandoni. Aliases Louie, Ka Rosendo, Bernie, Lopez, Bern, Munding, Cinco, Fernando, Andres. Jalandoni is alleged member of NDFP and founder of Christians for National Liberation (CNL), which the ATC had also tagged as a terror group. Jalandoni was also member of the NDFP panel that negotiated for a peace agreement with the government.
  2. Simon Naugsa. Aliases Filiw, Wayat, Bernie, Nasser, Yasser, Arop. Spokesperson of the Cordillera People’s Democratic Front and alleged member of CPP-NPA.
  3. A person named Afrecia or Apricia Alvarez or Alvarez Rosete. Aliases Bambam, Bambi, Jamjam, Isay, Tengteng, Lalay, Laly, Ilay, Maymay, Lily, Lali, Danielle, Aurora Cahayon. Alleged secretary of CPP-NPA Western regional party committee.
  4. Maria Luisa Purcray. Aliases Byul, Nanul, Meriam, Awri, Miriam, Monica, Viol, Rodora Guevarra, Lerma, Maou, Melba. Alleged secretary of Ilocos-Cordillera regional committee of CPP-NPA.
  5. Maria Gigi Ascaño-Tenebroso. Aliases Gigi and Jiji. Alleged member of Katipunan ng Gurong Makabayan and finance officer of Southern Mindanao regional CPP-NPA committee.
  6. Walter Alipio de Asis Cerbito. Alias Wati. Alleged member of CNL.

The ATC resolution said there was “finding of probable cause” to warrant designation of the six individuals as terrorists.


They had been accused of “committing, conspiring, planning, preparing for the commission of terrorism and recruitment to and membership in, and providing material support to terrorist organizations or groups organized for the purpose of engaging in terrorism.”

The resolution cited violations of the controversial anti-terror law.

ATC Resolution No. 32 designated as terrorists the following alleged members of ASG and Daulah Islamiyah (DI):

  1. Basaron Arok or Basarun Aruk. Aliases Abdulbasser, Abdulkadil, Arkam, Bas, Bossing. Alleged sub-leader of ASG and affiliated with DI.
  2. Ellam Sajirin or Ellam Nasirin or Ellam Nasarin or Illam Nasirin. Alias Ellam and Illam. Alleged sub-leader o the ASG and affiliated with DI.
  3. Madjid Said or Majid Said. Aliases Amah Pattit, Padin Padul, Pading, Amah Sah. Alleged sub-leader of ASG and affiliated with DI.
  4. Mura Asgali Kayawan. Aliases Salip Mura Asgali, Salip Mura, Salip Murah, Maas. Alleged sub-leader of ASG and affiliated with DI.
  5. Tawakkal Bayali or Tawakal Bayali or Tawakkal Abugaw Bayali or Tawwakal Bayali. Alias Abu Tawakkal, Jaber. Alleged sub-leader of ASG and affiliated with DI.

“Probable cause in designation refers to a reasonable ground of suspicion supported by circumstances warranting a cautious person to believe a proposed designation meets the requirements of designation,” the ATC said in a separate statement.

According to the ATC, the Anti-Terrorism Act (Republic Act No. 11479) empowered it to designated individuals or groups as terrorists “upon finding of probable cause.”

The terror tags would allow the Anti-Money Laundering Council (AMLC) to investigate and freeze assets and property of the individuals on the ATC list.

The ATC said the designation was necessary to sustain legal efforts against the continuing threat of terrorism in the country.


“Without doubt, the designation, in coordination with the AMLC, serves as an effective tool to deny terrorists from (sic) obtaining financial and material support for their terrorist activities,” the ATC said.

“It is also part of the legal means as an important component of the country’s comprehensive approach in counterterrorism,” it added.

CPP-NPA is listed as a terrorist organization by the United States, European Union, United Kingdom, Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the Philippines.

NDFP was formally designated as a terrorist organization by the ATC on June 23, 2021, citing it as “an integral and inseparable part” of CPP-NPA formed in April 1973.


Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.
Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: abu sayyaf, ATC, CPP-NPA, Daulah Islamiyah, Terrorists
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and
acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

© Copyright 1997-2022 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.