Sandro, other Marcoses in Ilocos Norte proclaimed winners in local polls | Inquirer News

Sandro, other Marcoses in Ilocos Norte proclaimed winners in local polls

Sandro, other Marcoses in Ilocos Norte proclaimed winners in local polls

The Marcoses of Ilocos Norte are being proclaimed as winners in the 2022 local elections. | PHOTO: John Michael Mugas

LAOAG CITY, Ilocos Norte—Political neophyte Sandro Marcos was proclaimed winner in the first district congressional race in Ilocos Norte on Tuesday (May 10) by the Commission on Elections (Comelec).

“Maraming salamat sa tiwala at suporta ng aking mga kakailian. Napakalaking bagay po nito para sa akin dahil ito po ang unang beses na may Marcos na tumakbo sa unang distrito,” said the 27-year-old congressman-elect.


The first district has been a stronghold of the Fariñases, where Ria, the daughter of veteran politician and former congressman Rodolfo “Rudy” Fariñas, is the incumbent.


Sandro was able to beat Ria as he garnered 108,423 votes against the latter’s 83,034 votes.

After the proclamation, Sandro said that he would try to push for bills that are focused on agriculture, jobs, and technological improvement in the province’s first district.

Sandro’s cousin, Matthew Marcos Manotoc, was also able to secure another term after defeating veteran politician and Ria’s father, Rodolfo “Rudy” Fariñas. Manotoc garnered 229,161 votes against Rudy’s 82,136 votes.

Other members of the clan who were proclaimed as winners on Tuesday were Cecilia Araneta Marcos who got a second term as vice governor of Ilocos Norte. Angelo Marcos Barba was also proclaimed as the winner for his second term as first district representative of the province.

Michael Marcos Keon, Sandro and Matthew’s uncle, was also proclaimed as the Laoag city mayor-elect on Tuesday.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.


© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.