Governors vow to pursue unfinished business of Edsa

/ 02:20 AM February 26, 2012

MANILA, Philippines—The country’s governors pledged on Saturday to work for genuine unity and peace, good governance, principled leadership and economic progress to complete the unfinished business of the 1986 Edsa Revolution.

At the 26th anniversary rites of the four-day Edsa people power revolt, 21 governors led by Union of Local Authorities of the Philippines (Ulap) president Alfonso Umali Jr., concurrent president of the League of Provinces of the Philippines (LPP) and Mindoro Oriental governor, affixed their signatures to a “commitment wall” on the stage after making pledges to honor the commemoration’s theme, “Anong Taya Mo Para Sa Pilipinas Natin?”


They made their pledges after President Aquino in his speech admitted that Edsa remained an “unfinished revolution.”

“Ang pagkakaisa ay ituloy natin para sa ating mamamayan at sa ikauunlad natin (Let’s continue to unite for our people and for our progress),” pledged Umali.


Ilocos Sur Gov. Luis “Chavit” Singson, LPP national chair, pledged to work for genuine peace, while Gov. Elray Villafuerte of Camarines Sur, LPP executive vice president, vowed to work to bring about local leadership that was “straight and principled.”

Nineteen other governors also struck themes promoting volunteerism, public health, economic progress, environmental protection, and an independent and progressive nation.

Best efforts

Palawan Gov. Abraham Kahlil B. Mitra, LPP spokesperson for Luzon, made a pitch for environmental protection, good governance and transparency.

Gov. Douglas Cagas of Davao del Sur said, “Gagawin ko ang tama sa tamang paraan at sa tamang panahon (I will do what is right in the right way and at the right time),” while Gov. Aurelio Umali of Nueva Ecija pledged the best efforts from “the food basket of the country.”

The other governors who attended the hour-long rites at the People Power Shrine on Edsa corner White Plains Avenue were Amado T. Espino Jr. of Pangasinan, Carlos Jericho Petilla of Leyte, Raul Lee of Sorsogon, Wilhelmino Sy-Alvarado of Bulacan, Esmael Mangudadatu of Maguindanao, Edgardo Tallado of Camarines Norte, Joseph Cua of Catanduanes, Victor Yap of Tarlac, Junie Cua of Quirino, Joey Salceda of Albay, Rodolfo del Rosario of Davao del Norte, Eduardo Firmalo of Romblon, Bong Plaza of Agusan del Sur, Rizalina Seachon-Lanete of Masbate, and Vicente Gato of Batanes.

Ulap is the umbrella organization of local authorities such as the League of Cities and League of Municipalities, covering the LGU leadership across the archipelago.


Umali and the other governors were accompanied to the rites by the mayors of the municipalities in their provinces.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: 1986 Edsa Revolution, Edsa People Power revolt, League of Provinces of the Philippines (LPP), Palawan Gov. Abraham Kahlil B. Mitra, Ulap president Alfonso Umali Jr., Union of Local Authorities of the Philippines (Ulap)
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.