Laguna, Iloilo City, Cagayan de Oro City under MECQ from Aug. 16 to 31 | Inquirer News

Laguna, Iloilo City, Cagayan de Oro City under MECQ from Aug. 16 to 31

By: - Reporter / @KAguilarINQ
/ 08:56 AM August 13, 2021

iloilo city


MANILA, Philippines — Laguna, Iloilo City and Cagayan de Oro City’s status will be de-escalated from the most restrictive enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) to modified ECQ (MECQ) from August 16 to 31, Malacañang announced on Friday.

In a statement, presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said President Rodrigo Duterte approved the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases’ recommendation to place these areas and 11 others under MECQ.


Iloilo City and Cagayan de Oro City had been under ECQ since July 16, while Laguna was only placed under ECQ last August 6.


Meanwhile, Metro Manila and Bataan remain under ECQ until August 20 and August 22, respectively.

Roque said other areas under MECQ from August 16 to 31 are the following:

  • Apayao
  • Ilocos Norte
  • Bulacan
  • Cavite
  • Lucena City
  • Rizal
  • Aklan
  • Iloilo Province
  • Lapu-Lapu City
  • Mandaue City
  • Cebu City

The following areas, meanwhile, will be placed under general community quarantine (GCQ) “with heightened restrictions”:

  • Ilocos Sur
  • Cagayan
  • Quezon
  • Batangas
  • Naga City
  • Antique
  • Bacolod City
  • Capiz
  • Negros Oriental
  • Cebu
  • Zamboanga del Sur
  • Misamis Oriental
  • Davao City
  • Davao del Norte
  • Davao Occidental
  • Davao de Oro
  •  Butuan City

Roque said the following areas are under GCQ:

  • Tarlac
  • Baguio City
  • Santiago City
  • Quirino
  • Isabela
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Puerto Princesa
  • Guimaras
  • Negros Occidental
  • Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Zamboanga City
  • Zamboanga del Norte
  • Davao Oriental
  • Davao del Sur
  • General Santos City
  • Sultan Kudarat
  • Sarangani
  • North Cotabato
  • South Cotabato
  • Agusan del Norte
  • Agusan del Sur
  • Surigao del Norte
  • Surigao del Sur
  • Dinagat Islands
  • Cotabato City

All other areas not mentioned will be placed under the most relaxed status modified general community quarantine from August 16 to 31.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: ECQ, IATF, Iloilo City, Laguna, MECQ

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.