BSP chief Diokno gets top spot on COA list of salaries, allowances | Inquirer News

BSP chief Diokno gets top spot on COA list of salaries, allowances

By: - Reporter / @zacariansINQ
/ 03:59 PM May 12, 2021

BSP chief Diokno gets top spot on COA list of salaries, allowances

FILE – BSP governor Benjamin Diokno tops the list of highest-paid government officials in 2020, according to COA’s report on Wednesday. Noy Morcoso /

MANILA, Philippines — The Commission on Audit (COA) on Wednesday listed Benjamin Diokno as the highest-paid government official in the Philippines in 2020.

In COA’s 2020 report on Salaries and Allowance (ROSA), Diokno jumped to the top spot with a salary and allowances of P19.79 million, up from the third place.


It’s over P4 million more than he got last year, which was P15.45 million.


Diokno replaced former United Coconut Planters Bank president and chief executive officer Higinio Macadaeg Jr., who now sits in 9th place.

Meanwhile, Solicitor General Jose Calida ranked second from fourth last year, despite his income going down to P15.65 million from P16.95 million.

READ: COA releases list of salaries, allowances received by government officials in 2019

Executive Vice President Eulogio Catabran of United Coconut Planters Bank is the third highest-paid at P15,461,222.77.

Rolando Macasaet, president and general manager of the Government Service Insurance System, rose from 51st to 4th place after making P15.25 million more.

Two Supreme Court judges made the top 10.


SC Senior Associate Justice Estela Perlas-Bernabe, 16th in 2019, is 2020’s fifth-highest paid government official, with P15 million in income.

Former SC Chief Justice Diosdado Peralta, on the other hand, climbed 12 spots to 7th place with P14.52 million in total income.

Below are the 10 highest paid government officials for 2020:

1. BSP Governor Benjamin Diokno – P19.79M

2. Solicitor General Jose Calida – P15.65M

3. UCPB Executive Vice President Eulogio Catabran III – P15.46M

4. GSIS President and General Manager Rolando Macasaet – P15.25M

5. Supreme Court Senior Associate Justice Estela Perlas-Bernabe – P15.20M

6. BSP Deputy Governor Maria Almasara Tuaño-Amador – P15.15M

7. Former Supreme Court Chief Justice Diosdado Peralta – P14.52M

8. BSP Deputy Governor Chuchi Fonacier – P14.34M

9. Former UCPB Pres. And Ceo Higinio Macadaeg Jr. – P13.22M

10. BSP Senior Asst. Governor Dahlia Luna – P12.63M

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

According to COA Chairman Michael Aguinaldo, ROSA “aims to support this administration’s continuing thrust for transparency and accountability in government transactions and operations.”

TAGS: COA, Jose Calida

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.