Plebiscite on dividing Palawan into 3 provinces begins | Inquirer News

Plebiscite on dividing Palawan into 3 provinces begins

By: - Reporter / @KHallareINQ
/ 10:58 AM March 13, 2021

MANILA, Philippines — Palawan voters are taking part in a plebiscite on Saturday to determine whether or not the province will be divided into three or remain a single province.



On Twitter, Commission on Elections (Comelec) spokesman James Jimenez shared a copy of the ballot.


Another post showed voters lining up outside a precinct, and their temperatures being checked before casting their votes. 


Jimenez likewise showed the “new look of Philippine elections”, where plastic barriers could be seen around a voter as a precaution against COVID-19.


The plebiscite is required under Republic Act No. 11259 that President Rodrigo Duterte signed on April 5, 2019, where Palawan will be divided to three provinces – Palawan del Norte, Palawan Oriental and Palawan del Sur.

Puerto Princesa City, Palawan’s capital, will not take part in the plebiscite or in future elections in any of the new provinces as it will have its own Congressional district representative.

 Voters can cast their votes from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m., while the counting and canvassing of votes shall begin from 3 p.m. onwards, the Comelec said.


Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Comelec, Commission on Elections, James Jimenez, Palawan, Palawan plebiscite, Plebiscite
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2021 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.