'Quinta' intensifies into a typhoon; 6 areas now under Signal No. 3 | Inquirer News

‘Quinta’ intensifies into a typhoon; 6 areas now under Signal No. 3

/ 06:31 PM October 25, 2020

Source: Pagasa website | October 25, 6:10 pm

MANILA, Philippines — Severe tropical storm Quinta intensified into a typhoon at 2 p.m. on Sunday a few hours before its expected landfall in the Bicol region.

In a weather bulletin issued 5 p.m., the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical, and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa) said Quinta was last seen 70 kilometers east northeast of Legazpi City, Albay. Quinta is expected to make landfall over the eastern coast of Camarines Sur – northeastern coast of Albay between 6:00 p.m. and 8:00 p.m. Sunday.


The typhoon continues to move west towards Bicol at 25 km per hour with maximum sustained winds of 130 km/h (kph) near the center and gustiness of up to 160 kph.



The following areas are placed under TCWS Signal No. 3 where residents may experience winds of 21-170 kph and intermittent rains within 18 hours:


-the eastern portion of Camarines Sur (Goa, Ocampo, Bula, Lagonoy, Garchitorena, Caramoan, Presentacion, San Jose, Tigaon, Sagnay, Buhi, Iriga City, Baao, Nabua, Bato, Balatan)




-Burias and Ticao Islands

TCWS No. 2 is raised over:

-Camarines Norte

-the rest of Camarines Sur


-central and southern portions of Quezon (Mauban, Sampaloc, Lucban, Dolores, Candelaria, Tiaong, San Antonio, Sariaya, Tayabas City, Lucena City, Pagbilao, Atimonan, Perez, Alabat, Calauag, Quezon, Tagkawayan, Guinayangan, Lopez, Pitogo, Plaridel, Gumaca, Unisan, Agdangan, Padre Burgos, Macalelon, Catanauan, General Luna, Buenavista, San Narciso, Mulanay, San Andres, San Francisco),

-the southeastern portion of Laguna (Paete, Kalayaan, Lumban, Cavinti, Luisiana, Majayjay, Liliw, Rizal, Nagcarlan, San Pablo City, Alaminos, Magdalena, Pagsanjan),




-Oriental Mindoro

-Occidental Mindoro including Lubang Island

-Northern Samar

TCWS No. 1:

-the rest of Quezon,

-the rest of Laguna



-Metro Manila




-the southern portion of Zambales (San Marcelino, San Felipe, San Narciso, Castillejos, Subic, San Antonio, Olongapo City, Botolan, Cabangan)

-Calamian Islands

-northern portion of Samar (Calbayog City, Matuguinao, Tagapul-An, Santo Nino, Almagro, Santa Margarita, Gandara, San Jose de Buan, Pagsanghan, Tarangnan, San Jorge, Catbalogan City, Jiabong, Motiong, Paranas)

-northern portion of Eastern Samar (Maslog, Jipapad, Arteche, San Policarpo, Oras, Dolores, Can-Avid, Taft)

-northern portion of Capiz (Sapi-An, Ivisan, Roxas City, Panay, Pilar, Pontevedra, President Roxas)


Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

-northern portion of Antique (Caluya, Libertad, Pandan, Sebaste, Culasi), and the northeastern portion of Iloilo (Batad, Balasan, Estancia, Carles)

TAGS: Philippines, Quinta, Rain, Typhoon, Weather

© Copyright 1997-2024 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.