Ombudsman will continue working despite impeachment | Inquirer News

Ombudsman will continue working despite impeachment

By: - Reporter / @T2TupasINQ
/ 06:21 PM March 22, 2011

MANILA, Philippines—Merceditas Gutierrez will continue discharging her duties as Ombudsman despite the overwhelming vote by the House of Representatives to impeach her.

“There is no law requiring me to go on leave. I will continue working. This (impeachment) will not be a hindrance in discharging my duties,” Gutierrez told reporters at a press conference Tuesday at the Office of the Ombudsman.


“It’s unfortunate that I have to go through this process,” she added.

Gutierrez said her conscience was clean and that she was prepared to face the Senate sitting as an impeachment court.


“My conscience is clear. I have done nothing wrong. I have done my job,” she said adding that she has high regards for the Senate which, according to her, will be “intrepid, impartial and independent.”

Gutierrez admitted that she did not watch the whole proceedings late Monday saying that from day one, she already expected the outcome.

At the end of the press briefing, employees of the Office of the Ombudsman gave Gutierrez a bouquet of flowers to express their support to her.

By the way, here’s the list of the 46 Representatives who voted against the impeachment of Gutierrez:

Albano, Rodolfo B.
Alcover, Pastor Jr. M.
Andaya, Rolando Jr. G.
Antonino, Rodolfo W.
Aquino, Jose II S.
Arroyo, Diosdado Macapagal
Arroyo, Iggy T.
Bagasina, Catalina C.
Bataoil, Leopoldo N.
Bichara, Al Francis DC.
Biron, Ferjenel G.
Cagas, Marc Douglas IV C.
Calimbas-Villarosa, Ma. Amelita A.
Celeste, Jesus ‘Boying’ F.
Cua, Dakila Carlo E.
Datumanong ,Simeon A.
Dimaporo, Fatima Aliah Q.
Dimaporo, Imelda Quibranza
Fua, Orlando B.
Garcia, Pablo John F.
Garcia, Pablo P.
Gonzales, Aurelio ‘Dong’ Jr. D.
Lagman, Edcel C.
Leonen-Pizarro, Catalina G.
Macapagal-Arroyo, Juan Miguel
Macapagal-Arroyo, Gloria M.
Magsaysay, Eulogio ‘Amang’ R.
Magsaysay, Ma. Milagros H.
Marcoleta, Rodante D.
Nograles, Karlo Alexei B.
Obillo, Reena Concepcion G.
Ortega, Victor Francisco C.
Padilla, Carlos M.
Pangandaman, Mohammed Hussein P.
Pangandaman, Solaiman C.
Panotes, Elmer E.
Pichay, Philip A.
Plaza, Ma. Valentina G.
Puno, Roberto V.
Remulla, Jesus Crispin C.
Salimbangon, Benhur L.
Suarez, Danilo E.
Sy-Alvarado, Ma. Victoria R.
Syjuco, Augusto Boboy Jr.
Tiangco, Tobias ‘Toby’ M.
Yap, Arthur C.

Source: House of Representatives

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Congress, Government, Impeachment
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

© Copyright 1997-2022 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.