6 quakes strike Mindanao provinces

/ 06:05 PM June 17, 2019
DAVAO CITY —At least six earthquakes of low intensity struck several provinces in Mindanao on Monday (June 17), according to the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs).

The first quake hit 8 kilometers southeast of Talacogon town, Agusan del Sur province with an intensity of 2.3. The second was recorded past midnight some 176 kilometers southeast of Sarangani town in Davao Occidental with an intensity of 3. A third quake was recorded 4:24 a.m. off the town of Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur province with an intensity of 2.6. A fourth quake was recorded 5:56 a.m. some 63 kilometers from Hinatuan with an intensity of 3.2.

At 8:34 a.m., a quake with intensity of 2.5 was recorded some 5 kilometers of Malungon town, Sarangani province. The sixth quake was recorded 10:02 a.m. some 80 kilometers southeast of Jose Abad Santos town, Davao Occidental.


No damage or casualty was reported in what the Phivolcs said were tectonic quakes. (Editor: Tony Bergonia)


Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Agusan del Sur, Mindanao, quakes, Sarangani, Surigao del Sur
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2019 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.