/ 05:00 AM June 09, 2019

June 11, 1580


Saints Peter and Paul Parish of Bantayan town on Bantayan Island in Cebu province was established as Convento de la Asuncion de Nuestra Señora under Rev. Fr. Pedro de Campos.

The parish, considered the oldest in Cebu province, has the biggest number of religious images and tableau depicting the passion and death of Jesus.

It has stood the test of time and survived torching by Moros in the 1600s.

The church served as a shelter for civilians and military officers during the Moro attack.

June 14, 1951

The municipality of Baler became the capital of Aurora, then a subprovince of Quezon province, by virtue of Republic Act No. 648.

It remained the seat of provincial government when Aurora was established as an independent province in November 1978 through Batas Pambansa Blg. 7.

Baler is known as the last Spanish outpost.


In 1899, the last Spanish troops holed up in Baler Church surrendered, ending the legendary Siege of Baler.

Today, Baler is known to tourists as the birthplace of Philippine surfing.

Compiled by Kathleen de Villa, Inquirer Research

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Philippine history, This Week's Milestones
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2019 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.