Hernandez beats Ejercito anew in Laguna

By: - Correspondent / @KBaraoidanINQ
/ 01:38 PM May 15, 2019
Ramil Hernandez electiions 2019

Reelectionist Ramil Hernandez is proclaimed governor of Laguna at the provincial capitol Wednesday. CHRIS QUINTANA/CONTRIBUTOR

SANTA CRUZ, LAGUNA — Reelectionist Ramil Hernandez beat rival Emilio Ramon “ER” Ejercito for the second time in Laguna’s gubernatorial race.

Hernandez was proclaimed governor at 12:38 p.m., Wednesday at the provincial capitol here.


Receiving a total of 817,250 votes, Hernandez surpassed Ejercito, who garnered 391,270 votes, and other gubernatorial candidates, including Berlene Alberto (7,414 votes), Leonardo Almadrigo (4,063 votes), Bronson Grajera (4,362 votes), and Manolo Samia (3,652 votes).

In 2014, then governor Ejercito was disqualified due to campaign overspending in the 2013 elections. This opened up the gubernatorial seat for then vice governor Hernandez.


The two went head to head in the 2016 elections, with Hernandez winning.

Last month, Ejercito was convicted of graft in relation to an insurance deal during his term as mayor of Pagsanjan town in 2008.

Ejercito was perpetually disqualified from holding public office but was still allowed to run in the recent election. (Editor: Leti Boniol)

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: #VotePH2019, elections 2019, Emilio Ramon “ER” Ejercito, Governor, Laguna, Local news, Ramil Hernandez
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Oral polio vaccination drive in Mindanao extended

December 10, 2019 04:18 AM


P500M set aside for ex-ARMM gov’t workers

December 10, 2019 04:18 AM


Baguio chill returns amid ‘amihan’

December 10, 2019 04:17 AM


Will U2 honor Cory, Leila and Leni in Dec. 11 concert?

December 10, 2019 04:10 AM

© Copyright 1997-2019 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.