3 minor planets named after 3 Filipino students who won in 2018 ISEF

By: - Social Media Specialist / @CarloMolinaINQ
/ 04:50 PM April 09, 2019

Three minor planets were named after three Filipino high school students who won major awards during the 2018 Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) held in Pennsylvania, United States.

The Department of Education (DepEd) announced this on a Facebook post on Tuesday, April 9, saying this is in recognition of the students after the team brought home second place awards in the “Energy: Physical” category, for their design and development of Solar-Tracking Arduino-Rooted PV Panels.


The DepEd said students Eugene Rivera, Joscel Kent Manzanero and Keith Russel Cadores of Camarines Sur National High School in Naga City each “received a certificate identifying their very own minor planet and an orbital plot showing its current location.”


GOOD NEWS!Three minor planets were named after three Filipino learners who bagged major prize in the 2018 Intel…

Department of Education – Philippines 发布于 2019年4月9日周二

“They represented the Philippines in the international science fair following their success in the 2018 National Science and Technology Fair,” the post stated.

The department also cited the Massachusetts Institute of Technology-Lincoln Laboratory for its practice since 2001 of naming asteroids discovered by its laboratory after high school students who excel at science competitions. JB


Space: The next frontier for Filipinos

PH to launch first Filipino cube satellite into space this Friday, June 29 — DOST


Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Camarines Sur, DepEd, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Naga City, National Science and Technology Fair
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2019 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.