Alvarez, allies batting for De Vera as House minority leader | Inquirer News

Alvarez, allies batting for De Vera as House minority leader

/ 04:42 PM August 02, 2018

Former Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez. (AP file Photo)

Former Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez and his allies have elected ABS Rep. Michael Eugene De Vera as their House minority leader, Ilocos Norte 1st District Rep. Rodolfo Fariñas said on Thursday.

Fariñas said they unanimously elected De Vera as their new minority leader during the group’s meeting at 9:00 a.m.


The group now has 13 members which include the three, as well as Reps. Rodito T. Albano III, Juan Pablo P. Bondoc, Monsour T. Del Rosario, Ruwell Peter S. Gonzaga, Roger G. Mercado, Mauyag B. Papandayan, Jr., Aileen C. Radaza, Lucy Torres-Gomez, Arnel U. Ty and Reynaldo V. Umali.

It was former Majority Leader Fariñas who said De Vera should be the new minority leader because the latter abstained in the voting for the speaker.


READ: Fariñas: De Vera should be acting minority leader

De Vera was deputy minority leader of Quezon 3rd District Rep. Danilo Suarez’s minority group before the change of leadership and the squabble in the minority leadership occurred in the lower chamber.

READ: House squabble shifts to minority leader position

On Wednesday, Suarez admitted that he was hurt that De Vera abandoned their group.

READ: Suarez ‘hurt’ that De Vera abandoned their minority bloc

Aside from De Vera and Suarez, Marikina 2nd District Rep. Romero Quimbo, a Liberal Party member, is also claiming to be the rightful leader of his minority bloc, which includes lawmakers from the Magnificent 7 and Makabayan opposition blocs.

Quimbo’s group has 26 members, while the Suarez group has 20 members as of Wednesday.


Quimbo’s group is composed of the following lawmakers:

From the Liberal party:
1. Minority Leader Quimbo
2. Cavite 1st District Rep. Francis Gerald Abaya
3. Quezon 2nd District Rep. Vicente Alcala
4. Zamboanga del Norte 3rd District Rep. Isagani Amatong
5. Dinagat Islands Rep. Kaka Bag-ao
6. Ifugao Rep. Teddy Baguilat
7. Quezon City 23s District Rep. Bolet Banal
8. Quezon City 6th District Rep. Kit Belmonte
9. Capiz 1st district Rep. Emmanuel Billones
10. Camarines Sur Rep. Gabby Bordado
11. Northern Samar 1st District Rep. Raul Daza
12. Pangasinan 4th District Rep. Toff de Venecia
13. Caloocan City 2nd District Rep. Edgar Erice
14. Albay 1st District Rep. Edcel Lagman
15. Negros Oriental 1st District Rep. Jocelyn Limkaichong
16. Occidental Mindoro Rep. Josephine Ramirez-Sato

Makabayan bloc:
17. Gabriela Rep. Arlene Brosas
18. Anakpawis Rep. Ariel Casilao
19. ACT-Teachers Rep. France Castro
20. Gabriela Rep. Emmi de Jesus
21. Kabataan Rep. Sarah Elago (Party-List)
22. ACT-Teachers Rep. Antonio Tinio
23. Bayan Muna Rep. Carlos Isagani Zarate

24. Anak Mindanao Rep. Amihilda Sangcopan (Anak Mindanao Party-List)
25. Akbayan Rep. Tom Villarin (Akbayan Party-List)
26. Magdalo Rep. Gary Alejano

Suarez’s group meanwhile consists of the following:
1. Rep. Suarez
2. ACTS OFW Rep. John Bertiz III
3. Coop Natcco Rep. Anthony Bravo
4. Ako Bicol Rep. Alfredo Garbin, Jr.
5. Makati City 2nd District Julius Campos, Jr.
6. Aangat Tayo Rep. Harlin Abayon
7. Alona Rep. Anna Villaraza-Suarez
8. Butil Rep. Cecilia Chavez
9. Agri Rep. Orestes Salon
10. Kalinga Rep. Abigail Ferriol-Pascual
11. Laguna 1st District Rep. Arlene Arcillas
12. A Teacher Rep. Julieta Cortuna
13. Pasig Rep. Richard Eusebio
14. Agri Rep. Delphine Lee
15. Kabayan Rep. Ciriaco Calalang
16. Aasenso Rep. Teodoro Montoro
17. Yacap Rep. Benhur Lopez
18. Senior Citizen Rep. Milagros Aquino-Magsaysay
19. Surigao del Norte,1st District Francisco Matugas
20. Agbiag Rep. Michelle Antonio

/jpv, je

READ: House squabble shifts to minority leader position

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Alvarez, De Vera, Farinas, House, minority leader
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2021 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.