Quantcast
Article Index |Advertise | Mobile | RSS | Wireless | Newsletter | Archive | Corrections | Syndication | Contact us | About Us| Services
 
  Breaking News :    
Advertisement
Robinsons Land Corp.
Sta Lucia Realty

INQUIRER ALERT
Get the free INQUIRER newsletter
Enter your email address:

 
Breaking News / Infotech Type Size: (+) (-)
You are here: Home > News > Breaking News > Infotech

  ARTICLE SERVICES      
     Reprint this article     Print this article  
    Send as an e-mail     Send Feedback  
    Post a comment   Share  





imns



Legarda seeks probe of ‘bogus’ website, email address

By Maila Ager
INQUIRER.net
First Posted 19:17:00 09/01/2008

Filed Under: Internet, Infotech, Congress, Protest

MANILA, Philippines -- Senator Loren Legarda has asked the Senate to investigate the construction of what she described as a “bogus” website and email address named after her and which is apparently being used in e-mail fraud.

Legarda said she recently discovered that a website using the domain name lorenlegarda.com is registered to and maintained by a certain J.S. Lim, who claims to be a resident of Singapore.

The website was registered through a hosting party named “bluerazor,” an Internet hosting company based in Arizona, USA, the senator said.

Aside from this website, Legarda said, emails suffixed with “@lorenlegarda.com” are also registered for use on the Internet.

She said she decided to speak on the matter because “there seems to be an apparent intention on the part of some unscrupulous personalities to deceive the public into believing false advocacies and information.”

“I strongly issue a disclaimer on these bogus websites that tend to mislead my constituents into believing [in] principles and policies which I don’t adhere [to],” she said when she took the floor on Monday.

“What is worse is the fact that we discovered that if one attempts to send an email to the bogus address suffixed @lorenlegarda.com, the sender receives an automatic reply that conveys the message where I purportedly signed a letter of solicitation for funds , thus discrediting my person and integrity,” Legarda said.

“Again, I repeat, for the benefit of the public, I have not authorized the construction and maintenance of the bogus/fake website that carries the domain name lorelegarda.com and emails that have the suffix @lorenlegarda.com,” she said.

The senator said she had already alerted law enforcement agencies about the matter, which is now being investigated.

“I despise the perpetrators of these acts,” the senator said. “The dastardly practice makes our respective Senate offices vulnerable to being discredited by people through deceit and fraud.”



Copyright 2009 INQUIRER.net. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.



Share


OTHER STORIES:



  ^ Back to top

© Copyright 2001-2009 INQUIRER.net, An INQUIRER Company

The INQUIRER Network: HOME | NEWS | SPORTS | SHOWBIZ & STYLE | TECHNOLOGY | BUSINESS | OPINION | GLOBAL NATION | Site Map
Services: Advertise | Buy Content | Wireless | Newsletter | Low Graphics | Search / Archive | Article Index | Contact us
The INQUIRER Company: About the Inquirer | User Agreement | Link Policy | Privacy Policy

Advertisement
Megaworld
Filinvest
Property Guide
Xoom
Inquirer VDO