Thursday, July 19, 2018
  • share this

This Week’s Milestones: Oct. 8-14, 2017

/ 05:00 AM October 08, 2017

Oct. 8, 1762

The town of Bacolor in Pampanga province became the temporary capital of the Philippines until May 1764. After the fall of Manila to British invaders, Governor General Simon de Anda made Bacolor the seat of the Spanish government.

Oct. 12, 1936


The municipality of Zamboanga in Zamboanga del Sur province became a city under Commonwealth Act No. 39. The early Malay settlers called the city “Jambangan,” which means “land of the flowers.” The population of Zamboanga City in 2015 was 861,799.

Compiled by Kathleen de Villa, Inquirer Research

Sources: Inquirer Archives, DOT, Official Calendar of the Republic,,

Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Philippine history
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2018 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.