Cebu bloggers group celebrates 5 years, awards members, partners



TO celebrate its fifth anniversary, the Cebu Bloggers Society Inc. (CBSi) held its first Appreciation Night last Feb. 15 at Harolds Hotel on Gorordo Avenue, Cebu City.

“We have had our ups and downs, but we will move forward, we will act now for a greater cause, which is to promote Cebu,” said CBSi president Ruben Licera Jr.

During the event, CBSi gave awards to lawyer Ethelbert Ouano, Nancy Cudis, Bjorn Bernales, Xerxes Bernadez, Sinjin Pineda, and Deutche Atil Mark Monta for their exemplary leadership and service to CBSi.

Licera awarded president’s citation to Agnes Jimenez, Milafel Hope Dacanay, Kareen Satorre, Red Yumang, Jaysee Pingkian, Nancy Cudis, Jaysee Pingkian, Fleire Castro, Bjorn Bernales, Narciso Tapia, Vernon Go, and Kevin Ray Chua for their commendable service to the blogging community.

Loyalty awards for being a member of CBSI for five years went to Xerxes Aaron Bernadez, Kevin Ray Chua, Mark Gallardo, Agnes Jimenez, Mikyu Maglasang, Deutche Atil Mark Monta, Ethelbert Ouano, Sinjin Pineda, Wilhelmina Sarawi, Orville Tadle, Gerrymie Tampus, and Etulle Kristian.

CBSI’s core officers also awarded Cebu’s best bloggers in various niches, including Ram Mancelita (technology), Mary Angeli Bas (food), Jaysee Pingkian (community), Deutche Atil Mark Monta (lifestyle), Ricky “Rabsin” de la Cruz (fashion), Dr. Narciso Tapia (health), and Herbert Kikoy (photo blog).

In a poll, members voted Nancy Cudis as CBSI Blogger of the Year based on her blog’s performance, her passion for blogging, and for being a role model to current and aspiring bloggers.

Licera was conferred the first Lapu-Lapu Award for his exemplary leadership in blogging and tech communities in Cebu. At the same time, Max Limpag, co-founder of InnoPub Media and business editor of Sun.Star, was recognized as CBSi’s first honorary member for his huge contribution to the group in terms of knowledge sharing and mentoring.

Partners were also recognized as Kauban awardees, including Ramon Aboitiz Foundation Inc., Smart Communications, Andy Hotel, PRWorks, Harolds Hotel, GeiserMaclang, Cebu Daily News, Sun.Star Cebu, The Freeman, Julie’s Bakeshop, Sun Cellular, Globe,, JY Gonzales & Partners, Blackberry, Mactan Isla Resort, Bluewater Resort, Megaworld, Costabella Resort, Research in Motion and

The Appreciation Night, which was sponsored by Harolds Hotel, Smart Communications,, Sun Cellular and Click Photo Club, concluded with the unveiling of the Social Media Influencers Summit 2013 that will be held on Mar. 16 at J Centre Mall.

Get Inquirer updates while on the go, add us on these apps:

Inquirer Viber

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

  • Feliciana Eleodra

    Congrats CBSI, any requirement to attend at your JC center affair?

To subscribe to the Philippine Daily Inquirer newspaper in the Philippines, call +63 2 896-6000 for Metro Manila and Metro Cebu or email your subscription request here.

Factual errors? Contact the Philippine Daily Inquirer's day desk. Believe this article violates journalistic ethics? Contact the Inquirer's Reader's Advocate. Or write The Readers' Advocate:

c/o Philippine Daily Inquirer Chino Roces Avenue corner Yague and Mascardo Streets, Makati City,Metro Manila, Philippines Or fax nos. +63 2 8974793 to 94


editors' picks



latest videos