Caloocan designates firecracker zones


11:12 PM December 26th, 2012

December 26th, 2012 11:12 PM

The Caloocan City government has ordered the designation of firecracker zones throughout the city as residents prepare to greet the New Year with a bang.

Mayor Enrico Echiverri said he had ordered the city’s 188 barangays (villages) to designate their respective firecracker zones or open areas away from houses and other establishments where residents could safely light up firecrackers and fireworks.

“(This is) for the benefit and safety of our residents themselves, so we hope everyone follows this so we can have a safe New Year celebration,” Echiverri said.

Police and civilian public safety teams will be deployed to check compliance and anyone caught setting off firecrackers outside the zones will be penalized, he said.

Caloocan, which is the second largest city in Metro Manila, is the second local government unit after Navotas City to initiate such measures in the Camanava area. Nathaniel R. Melican

Disclaimer: Comments do not represent the views of We reserve the right to exclude comments which are inconsistent with our editorial standards. FULL DISCLAIMER
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.