2018 Glory Awards opens search for outstanding UP MassComm alumni

06:15 AM June 08, 2018

Nominations are now open for the 2018 Glory Awards. This year, the aim is to be more proactive in discovering exceptional alumni of the University of the Philippines-College of Mass Communication (UPCMC).

The “Glorys” will be a highlight of the annual homecoming of the college on Sept. 15, 2018. “We’re committed to honor deserving UP MassComm alumni each year in every communication field. Our selection criteria will focus on the intrinsic merits and impact of their work,” said Malou Choa-Fagar, president of the UPCMC Alumni Association.


She explained that a technical committee will seek out potential awardees and search their record of achievement. This will do away with the requirement to submit voluminous supporting documents, Fagar said. UPCMC alumni are encouraged to send in their nominations. Fagar added, “For simplicity, we will only require a single-page letter from the nominator stating why their nominee deserves the award.” If necessary, the technical committee may request nominators to further substantiate the track records of their nominees, she added.

To qualify, nominees must have majored in any of the four undergraduate disciplines of UPCMC: journalism, broadcast communication, communication research, or film and completed at least 60 units in UP. Nominees who did not do their undergraduate studies at UPCMC but who completed their Master’s degrees or PhDs at UPCMC are also qualified.


One-page nominations can be emailed to [email protected] or sent to the UPCMC Alumni Office, 2/F Plaridel Hall, Ylanan Road, UP Diliman 1101 Quezon City. A board of jurors composed of former Glory winners, well-respected media practitioners, and CMC professors will select this year’s awardees. Deadline for submission of nominees is Sunday, 5:00 p.m., June 17, 2018.

“We thank our alumni association for enshrining the legacy of excellence of our founding dean, Dr. Gloria Feliciano, through the Glory Awards,” said incumbent UPCMC Dean Elena Pernia.

The 2017 winners were Roby Alampay (print and online journalism), Lan Mercado (social advocacy), Sari Dalena (film), Raul Castro (marketing communications), Lauren Dyogi (television arts), Marissa Flores (broadcast journalism), and Joy Buensalido (public relations).

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: 'glory awards', Education, news, UP Diliman, upcmc
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.